German Astronauts
Earth's outpost in space
International Space Station ISS
theme

Ulrich Walter

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Astronaut Ulrich Walter während der D2%2dMission

    Astronaut Ulrich Walter during the D2 mission

    Astronaut Ulrich Walter demonstrates microgravity in Spacelab during the 1993 D2 mission.

Ulrich Walter was born on 9 February 1954 in Iserlohn. After completing his secondary school education and national service, he began studying physics at the University of Cologne (Universität zu Köln) in 1974, completing his degree in experimental physics in 1980. His scientific career gathered pace and he received his doctorate in solid-state physics five years later, after which he moved to the Argonne National Laboratory in Chicago. In 1986 he transferred to the University of California at Berkeley.

A year later, he was selected as a German astronaut candidate and commenced training at DLR in 1988. Walter was selected for a mission alongside his German colleague Hans Schlegel in 1992.

On 26 April 1993 the two Germans launched along with five other astronauts aboard STS-55; their own national assignment was known as the 'D2' mission. Space Shuttle Columbia carried the second German mission for the multi-purpose space laboratory, Spacelab, into orbit. The crew performed 90 experiments during the multi-disciplinary mission in fields such as material and life sciences, technology, automation and robotics, as well as Earth and space observations. DLR, NASA, the European Space Agency (ESA) and other French and Japanese agencies collaborated on the mission. The crew worked around the clock on a split-shift basis. Many of the experiments augmented the D1 mission undertaken seven years previously. Among the many experiments carried out on the crew was the first test of how people react to saline injections, which was intended to determine their usefulness as a possible countermeasure to fluid deficiency. Furthermore, the Shuttle Amateur Radio Experiment (SAREX) gave students and amateur radio operators the chance to communicate directly with the astronauts.

After concluding the mission, Walter returned to Germany where he headed the development of DLR's German satellite imaging database (Deutschen Satellitenbild-Datenarchivs) at Oberpfaffenhofen, Bavaria from 1994, for four years. The result was a centralised repository for satellite images available to the public at large. Following a detour to the private sector, Walter is currently the chair of Aerospace Technology at the Technical University of Munich (Technischen Universität München).

Last modified:
23/06/2011 16:21:02

Deutsche Astronauten
"Außenposten" im All
Internationale Raumstation ISS
theme

Ulrich Walter

  • Astronaut Ulrich Walter während der D2%2dMission Astronaut Ulrich Walter während der D2%2dMission

    Astronaut Ulrich Walter während der D2-Mission

    Astronaut Ulrich Walter demonstriert die Schwerelosigkeit im Spacelab während der D2-Mission 1993.

loading
 

Ulrich Walter wurde am 9. Februar 1954 in Iserlohn geboren. Nach dem Abitur und seinem Wehrdienst nahm er 1974 das Studium der Physik an der Universität Köln auf und machte dort 1980 sein Diplom in experimenteller Physik. Hier setzte er auch seine wissenschaftliche Karriere fort: Fünf Jahre später erlangte er den Doktorgrad im Bereich Festkörperphysik. Im Anschluss zog es ihn in die Staaten an das Argonne National Laboratory (ANL) in Chicago, bevor er 1986 an die University of California nach Berkeley ging.

Ein Jahr später begann der Höhepunkt seiner Karriere: Er wurde als deutscher Astronautenanwärter ausgewählt und nahm 1988 das Training im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) auf. Endgültig für eine Mission ausgewählt wurde Ulrich Walter 1992 gemeinsam mit seinem deutschen Kollegen Hans Schlegel.

Am 26. April 1993 starteten die beiden Deutschen mit fünf weiteren Astronauten auf der D2-Mission während der Shuttle Mission STS-55 ins All. Das Space Shuttle Columbia brachte das zweite mehrfach nutzbare deutsche Raumlabor (Spacelab) in den Orbit. Auf der multidisziplinären Mission führte die Crew fast 90 Experimente auf den Gebieten Material- und Lebenswissenschaften sowie Technologie, Automatisierung, Robotik, Erd- und Weltraumbeobachtung durch. Das DLR, die NASA sowie die ESA (European Space Agency) und weitere Agenturen in Frankreich und Japan wirkten an dieser Mission mit. Die Crew arbeitete rund um die Uhr in einem Zwei-Schicht-System. Viele der Experimente erweiterten die sieben Jahre zuvor durchgeführte D1-Mission. Neben den zahlreichen Experimenten wurde an der Crew der erste Versuch durchgeführt, wie Menschen im All auf eine Kochsalzinjektion reagieren. Die Injektion sollte die Reaktionen als Gegenmaßnahme auf den Flüssigkeitsmangel erproben. Des Weiteren wurde an Bord der Columbia zudem noch das Shuttle Amateur Radio Experiment (SAREX) durchgeführt, bei dem Studenten und Amateurfunker die Möglichkeit hatten, direkt mit den Astronauten zu kommunizieren.

Nach Ende der Mission kehrte Walter wieder nach Deutschland zurück und leitete ab 1994 vier Jahre lang die Entwicklung des "Deutschen Satellitenbild-Datenarchivs" des DLR im bayerischen Oberpfaffenhofen. Dort baute er eine zentrale Stelle für Satellitenbilder für die breite Öffentlichkeit auf. Nach einem Abstecher in die Industrie ist er seit 2003 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Raumfahrttechnik an derTechnischen Universität München.

Zuletzt geändert am:
20.03.2014 13:45:38 Uhr