Neustrelitz

DLR Neustrelitz

  • DLR%2dSite Neustrelitz DLR%2dSite Neustrelitz

    DLR-Site Neustrelitz

    DLR-Site Neustrelitz

  • DLR%2dStandort Neustrelitz DLR%2dStandort Neustrelitz

    DLR site Neustrelitz

    Aerial view of DLR site Neustrelitz.

  • Antenne am DLR%2dStandort Neustrelitz Antenne am DLR%2dStandort Neustrelitz

    Antenna at DLR's Neustrelitz site

    With a radio-telescope network comprising four systems and the requisite IT infrastructure for data processing, process control, archiving and data transmission, the Neustrelitz site has access to modern systems suitable for the demands of a real-time data centre for GMES and Galileo.

loading
 

The Neustrelitz site of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) is approximately 100km north of Berlin in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, and is the workplace of about 60 scientists, engineers and clerical staff. The R&D work carried out on-site covers themes such as surveillance of the earth by satellite, and navigation; a profile which aligns the site with others in the GMES and GALILEO European research programmes.

The national ground segment is a department of the German Remote-sensing Data Centre and the radio telescopes for payload data from remote-sensing satellites and other small scientific satellites in Germany. Neustrelitz's central location within Europe and the telescopes' inclusion in the ESA-Earthnet make make the facility a key link in the international network of radio-telescope stations. The infrastructure required is being developed as part of an on-going process and is, today, at the cutting-edge of ground-segment technology. The technology used in operations for transmission protocols, radio telescopes, data management, archives, and validation and test environments (the DEMMIN test site, (Durable Environmental Multidisciplinary Monitoring Information Network)) form the basis for a multi-mission operation. With a radio-telescope network comprising four systems and the requisite IT infrastructure for data processing, process control, archiving and data transmission, the Neustrelitz site has access to modern systems suitable for the demands of a real-time data centre for GMES and Galileo. Thanks to the creation of a quick, automatic process chain and the expansion of the DEMMIN test site for seasonal and permanent measurement of relevant environmental data, the basics for process improvement and verification for processing of survey data can be created and developed, completing the chain from reception of the signals to validation.

The R&D work of the Mathematical and Physical Principles cluster at the institute's Applied Remote Sensing Cluster concentrates on the areas of scattering, radiative transfer and retrieval. The methods and processes developed in this context aid processor development and dual processing in relation to stability, precision and the effectiveness and simulation of remote-sensing scenarios.

In the field of satellite navigation, the focus of the site is on the development and application of satellite-navigation systems such as GALILEO. Dedicated R&D work is performed by the Validation and Supplementary Systems cluster and the Ionospheric Effects and Corrections cluster of the Institute for Communication and Navigation. Substantial tasks in this context are the experimental validation of properties and the efficiency of the Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) and the development and demonstration of operational processes for real-time assessment of ionospheric conditions and their influence on satellite radio technology in the field of navigation and communications. Both themes are aimed at the development of local supplementary systems (Rostock Research Port) and regional services (Space Weather Application Center Ionosphere), needed for high-precision, security-critical GNSS applications.

The technology marketing strategy applied by DLR has a control centre for technology transfer in Neustrelitz. It functions as a contact point for commercial enterprises throughout the region, and supports them in terms of planning and conversion of innovative enterprising spirit into development and marketing of products, processes and services which use technology from DLR institutes. Thus technology marketing has the key to open up the entire technological repertoire of DLR for the benefit of business in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, so that it can improve its competitiveness.

Institutes and facilities on-site:

  • German Remote-sensing Data Centre
  • Institute for Communications and Navigation
  • Institute for Remote-sensing Methods
  • Technology Marketing

Last modified:
07/08/2012 16:50:09

Contacts

 

Melanie-Konstanze Wiese
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Tel.: +49 30 67055-639

Fax: +49 30 67055-102

Neustrelitz

Der Standort Neustrelitz des DLR

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Der DLR%2dStandort Neustrelitz

    Der DLR-Standort Neustrelitz

    Der DLR-Standort Neustrelitz

  • DLR%2dStandort Neustrelitz

    DLR-Standort Neustrelitz

    Luftansicht des DLR-Standorts Neustrelitz. Im Vordergrund sind die Antennen der Satellitenempfangseinrichtung zu sehen.

  • Antenne am DLR%2dStandort Neustrelitz

    Antenne am DLR-Standort Neustrelitz

    Mit einem aus vier Systemen bestehenden Antennennetzwerk verfügt der Standort über moderne Systeme, die den Anforderungen eines Echtzeitdatenzentrums für GMES und Galileo entsprechen.

  • Halo-Erscheinung in Neustrelitz

    Halo-Erscheinungen sind in unseren Breitengraden sehr selten. Sie entstehen durch die Lichtstreuung an Eiskristallen in der Atmosphäre. Die Aufnahme entstand 1998 am DLR-Standort Neustrelitz.

Der DLR-Standort Neustrelitz liegt etwa 100 Kilometer nördlich von Berlin im Bundesland Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und beschäftigt annähernd 60 Wissenschaftler, Ingenieure und Angestellte. Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten am Standort sind den Themenbereichen satellitengestützte Erdbeobachtung und Navigation zugeordnet und gliedern sich damit in die Europäischen Forschungsprogramme GMES und GALILEO ein.

Das Nationale Bodensegment ist eine Abteilung des Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrums und die Satellitenempfangseinrichtung für Nutzlastdaten von Fernerkundungs- und wissenschaftlichen Kleinsatelliten in Deutschland. Durch die zentrale Lage in Europa und der Einbindung in das ESA-Earthnet stellt die Einrichtung einen zentralen Knoten im internationalen Netzwerk der Empfangsstationen dar. Die dafür benötigte Infrastruktur wurde und wird ständig weiterentwickelt und entspricht heute den neuesten Anforderungen im Bodensegmentbereich. Die operationell verwendeten Technologien bei den Übertragungsverfahren, Empfangssystemen, im Datenmanagement, Archiven und Validierungs- und Testumgebungen (Testfeld DEMMIN, "Durable Environmental Multidisciplinary Monitoring Information Network") bilden die Grundlage für einen operationellen Multimissionsbetrieb. Mit einem aus vier Systemen bestehenden Antennennetzwerk und der notwendigen dateninformationstechnischen Infrastruktur für die Datenverarbeitung, Prozeßsteuerung, Archivierung und Datenverteilung verfügt der Standort über moderne Systeme, die den Anforderungen eines Echtzeitdatenzentrums für Copernicus und Galileo entsprechen. Mit dem Aufbau einer schnellen, automatischen Verarbeitungskette und dem Ausbau des Testfeldes DEMMIN zur saisonalen und permanenten Messung fernerkundungsrelevanter Umweltdaten, werden die Grundlagen zur Überprüfung und Verbesserung von Verfahren zur Verarbeitung von Erderkundungsdaten geschaffen, weiterentwickelt und somit die Kette vom Empfang bis zur Validation komplettiert.

Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten der Arbeitsgruppe "Mathematisch-physikalische Grundlagen" des Instituts für Methoden der Fernerkundung sind den Themenbereichen Streuung, Strahlungstransport und Retrieval zugeordnet. Die in diesem Kontext entwickelten Methoden und Verfahren dienen der Prozessorentwicklung und dems Prozessorbetriebes in Bezug auf Stabilität, Genauigkeit und Effektivität und der Simulation von Fernerkundungsszenarien.

Schwerpunkte des Standortes im Bereich der satellitengestützten Navigation sind auf die Entwicklung und Nutzung von Satellitennavigationssystemen wie GALILEO ausgerichtet. Zugeordnete Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten werden durch die Arbeitsgruppen "Nautische Systeme" und "Ionosphärische Effekte und Korrekturen" des Instituts für Kommunikation und Navigation umgesetzt. Wesentliche Aufgaben in diesem Kontext sind die experimentelle Validierung der Eigenschaften und der Leistungsfähigkeit von Globalen Navigationssatellitensystemen (GNSS) und die Entwicklung und Demonstration operationeller Verfahren zur Echtzeitbewertung des Ionosphärenzustandes und seines Einflusses auf satellitengestützte Funksysteme im Navigations- und Kommunikationsbereich. Beide Themen sind auf die Entwicklung von lokalen Ergänzungssystemen (Forschungshafen Rostock) und regionalen Diensten (Space Weather Apllication Center Ionosphere) ausgerichtet, die für hochpräzise und sicherheitskritische GNSS-Anwendungen notwendig sind.
 
Das Technologiemarketing des DLR unterhält in Neustrelitz eine Leitstelle für Technologietransfer. Diese fungiert als Ansprechpartner für Wirtschaftsunternehmen der Region und unterstützt diese bei der Planung und Umsetzung von innovativen unternehmerischen Vorhaben zur Entwicklung und Markteinführung von Produkten, Verfahren und Dienstleistungen unter Nutzung von Technologien aus Instituten des DLR. Das Technologiemarketing erschließt damit den Unternehmen in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern die gesamte technologische Kompetenz des DLR zur Verbesserung ihrer Wettbewerbsposition.

Institute und Einrichtungen des Standortes:

Zuletzt geändert am:
19.11.2014 12:38:07 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Melanie-Konstanze Wiese
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Berlin und Neustrelitz

Tel.: +49 30 67055-639

Fax: +49 30 67055-102
Peter Georgino
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Leitung des Standortes

Tel.: +49 30 67055-541