Systems Analysis and Technology Assessment



Sustainable Energy Concepts

Technology Assessment

 

Resource Analysis

Background and research objectives:

Because of the inherent inertia of the energy system, any decisions taken in the energy sector have particularly long term impacts. Opportunities offered by new technologies and potential negative consequences on the environment and on society can be identified in time by provident and pro-active decision making. A pre-requisite for such a course of action is a thorough understanding of complex systems, which allows decision makers to find a balance between the technical and economic possibilities of to-day, and the long term development perspectives.

The department provides methods and tools which support problem solving in the field of energy related systems analysis and technology assessment. Specific knowledge is generated which can guide decision makers from science, policy and industry to identify long term research priorities, and to establish a framework supporting sound energy-, environmental- and research-policy.

The systems analysis work of the department combines top-down analysis of the overall energy supply system at regional, national and European level with technology oriented bottom-up studies in relevant areas like Life Cycle Assessment,the assessment of re-source potentials of renewable energies and economic analyses. Conceptual work on sustainability issues, on technological learning and on market introduction mechanism of new technologies complete the field of activities.

Research activities of the department Systems Analysis and Technology Assessment can be allocated to the following four key areas:

(I) Technical-economic-environmental analyses of the deployment of emerging energy technologies

(II) Development of concepts for sustainable energy systems by means of scenarios techniques

(III) Investigation of market introduction and implementation strategies for new technologies and structures in the energy field

(IV) Conceptual work on the advancement of scientific system analysis methods with regard to the specific qualities of renewable energies and decentralized supply structures


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/tt/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2904/4394_read-6500/

Systemanalyse und Technikbewertung



Kommissarische Leitung: Dr. Christoph Schillings  / Dipl.-Phys. Carsten Hoyer-Klick

Sekretariat: Eva Ast

Selbstverständnis und Arbeitsschwerpunkte:

 

Nachhaltige Energiekonzepte

 

Technikbewertung

 

Ressourcenanalyse

Entscheidungen in der Energiewirtschaft, Energiepolitik und Energieforschung haben stets weit reichende und lang wirkende Folgen. Durch vorausschauendes aktives Handeln können Chancen neuer Technologien rechtzeitig erkannt und mögliche negative Auswirkungen unseres heutigen Handelns auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft minimiert werden. Voraussetzung für ein solches Handeln ist systemanalytisches Wissen, welches Entscheidungsträgern erlaubt, eine Balance zwischen den heutigen technischen und ökonomischen Möglichkeiten und den zu erwartenden langfristigen Entwicklungsperspektiven zu finden.

Die Abteilung Systemanalyse & Technikbewertung entwickelt und nutzt Methoden und Werkzeuge, die auf die spezifischen Fragestellungen der Systemanalyse und Technikbewertung im Bereich der Energieversorgung zugeschnitten sind. Es wird außerdem Wissen bereitgestellt, das Entscheidungsträgern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik als Orientierung zur Entwicklung langfristiger Forschungsschwerpunkte und zur Gestaltung von energie-, umwelt- und forschungspolitischer Rahmenbedingungen dient.

Die Arbeiten der Abteilung Systemanalyse & Technikbewertung kombinieren energiewirtschaftliche Top-down Analysen des gesamten Energiesystems auf regionaler, nationaler und europäischer Ebene mit technologieorientierten Bottom-up Studien in relevanten Teilbereichen wie z.B. Lebenszyklusbilanzen, Potenzial- und Wirtschaftlichkeitsanalysen. Konzeptionelle Arbeiten zur Nachhaltigkeitsproblematik, zum technischen Lernen oder zur Markteinführung neuer Technologien ergänzen das Arbeitsgebiet.

Die Tätigkeiten lassen sich in vier Schlüsselbereiche einordnen:

(I) Entwicklung von Konzepten einer nachhaltigen Energieversorgung auf der Basis von Szenarioanalysen

(II) Technisch-ökonomisch-ökologische Einsatzanalysen und forschungsbegleitende Systemanalysen für einzelne Technologielinien

(III) Ermittlung zweckmäßiger Markteinführungsstrategien für neue Technologien und Strukturen im Energiebereich

(IV) Methodische Weiterentwicklung systemanalytischer Instrumente insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Eigenschaften erneuerbarer Energien und dezentraler Versorgungsstrukturen

 


URL dieses Artikels
http://dlr.de/tt/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2904/4394_read-6500/