News

SALTRACE-Falcon-campaign on climate effects of Saharan dust started

June 2013

Within the international project SALTRACE scientists of the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics perform airborne measurements with the DLR research aircraft Falcon on the Cape Verdes and the Caribbean. The effect of dust from deserts on clouds and weather is a great uncertainty in climate prediction. The scientists aim at better understanding the climate effects of such small particles.

Satellite images show that mineral dust from deserts is transported over large distances. The dust consists of very small liquid and solid particles with a size between 1/100 and 1/1000 if the thickness of a human hair. They are called aerosol particles. Mineral dust plays an important role in the climate system because it directly influences the incident solar radiation on Earth. Moreover, mineral dust can alter the properties of clouds what also influences the radiation budget of our climate.

According to estimates an annual amount of five billion tons of aerosol particles enters the atmosphere by natural and anthropogenic processes. Dust from deserts contributes with about 2.5 billion tons, thereof 1.5 billion tons from the Sahara. With an area of nine million square kilometers – 4/5 of the area of Europe – the Sahara is the most important source of desert dust and contributes 60 percent of the global dust emission. Dust from the Sahara is periodically transported from Africa towards the west over the Atlantic Ocean to the Caribbean. In the context of global warming it is important to gain an accurate knowledge about the properties of aerosol particles from deserts in the atmosphere.

Link:

DLR press release (in German)

SALTRACE web site

Contact:

Prof. B. Weinzierl


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pa/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-36957/

Neues aus dem Institut

SALTRACE-Falcon-Kampagne zur Klimawirkung von Saharastaub gestartet

Juni 2013

Im Rahmen des internationalen Projekts SALTRACE führen Wissenschaftler des DLR Instituts für Physik der Atmosphäre Messungen mit dem Forschungsflugzeug Falcon auf den Kapverden und in der Karibik durch. Welchen Effekt Wüstenstaub auf die Bewölkung und das Wetter hat, stellt eine große Unsicherheit in Klimaprognosen dar. Die Wissenschaftler wollen die klimatischen Einflüsse der feinen Teilchen besser verstehen.

Satellitenbilder zeigen, dass Mineralstaub aus den Wüsten der Erde über weite Strecken transportiert wird. Dieser Wüstenstaub besteht aus winzigen flüssigen oder festen Teilchen, deren Größe einem 100stel bis 1000stel der menschlichen Haardicke entspricht. Sie werden als Aerosolpartikel bezeichnet. Wüstenstaub spielt eine wichtige Rolle im Klimasystem, weil er direkt die von der Sonne auf der Erde eingehende Strahlung beeinflusst. Darüber hinaus kann Mineralstaub die Eigenschaften von Wolken verändern. Auch das beeinflusst den Strahlungshaushalt der Erde und damit unser Klima.

Schätzungen zufolge gelangen jährlich fünf Milliarden Tonnen Aerosolpartikel durch natürliche oder vom Menschen verursachte Prozesse in die Atmosphäre. Der Wüstenstaub trägt hierzu etwa 2,5 Milliarden Tonnen bei, davon 1,5 Milliarden Tonnen aus der Sahara. Mit neun Millionen Quadratkilometern - das entspricht etwa 4/5 der Fläche Europas - ist die Sahara die größte Quelle für Wüstenstaub und trägt 60 Prozent zur globalen Wüstenstaubemission bei. Staub aus der Sahara wird regelmäßig aus Afrika nach Westen über den Atlantik in die Karibik transportiert. Gerade unter dem Aspekt der globalen Klimaveränderung ist es wichtig, genaue Kenntnis über die Eigenschaften der Wüstenaerosolpartikel in der Atmosphäre zu erhalten.

Links:

Presseinformation des DLR

SALTRACE Webseite (in Englisch)

Kontakt:

Prof. B. Weinzierl


URL dieses Artikels
http://dlr.de/pa/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-36957/