News

New findings about the arctic ozone layer

New findings about the arctic ozone layer

As a major finding of the EU project RECONCILE, which was completed in February 2013, it is expected that, according to recent measurements, the ozone layer over the North Pole should recover by the end of the century. Scientists from 35 research institutions, among them the Institute of Atmospheric Physics of DLR, and universities in 14 countries spent four years investigating the chemical process of ozone depletion. Their findings verified once again that chlorine compounds are indeed responsible for this. The scientists used the new insights to improve existing climate models. These models facilitate more reliable predictions on how the ozone layer will develop in future and on the possible consequences of climate change for the stratosphere.

To achieve these results, the researchers performed numerous laboratory experiments, field measurements and computer simulations. One of the highlights was a measurement campaign with the M55 Geophysica. The Russian plane is the only European research aircraft capable of flying at altitudes of up to 21 kilometres. Between January and March 2010, the Geophysica flew over the Arctic thirteen times collecting samples and data. Preparing and conducting the measurement flights at ground temperatures of up to minus 40 °C was a unique challenge faced by those involved in the campaign.

Even if the ozone layer recovers, climate change could alter the underlying conditions. Climate change could alter the temperature, circulation patterns and chemical composition in the stratosphere. This also influences the ozone layer, which in turn has a bearing on temperature.

Contact: Hans Schlager

Link: RECONCILE Webseite (at Forschungszentrum Jülich)


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pa/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-36534/

Neues aus dem Institut

Neue Erkenntnisse zur arktischen Ozonschicht

April 2013

Als zentrales Ergebnis des EU-Projekts RECONCILE, das im Februar 2013 seine Arbeit abgeschlossen hat, wird erwartet, dass sich die Ozonschicht über dem Nordpol sich nach heutigem Ermessen bis Ende des Jahrhunderts erholt haben wird. Vier Jahre lang hatten Wissenschaftler von 35 Forschungseinrichtungen, darunter das Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre des DLR, und Universitäten aus 14 Ländern den chemischen Prozess der Ozonzerstörung untersucht. Ihre Forschungen haben noch einmal bestätigt, dass tatsächlich Chlorverbindungen dafür verantwortlich sind. Dank der neuen Erkenntnisse konnten die Wissenschaftler bestehende Klimamodelle verbessern. Dadurch lassen sich die künftige Entwicklung der Ozonschicht und die möglichen Folgen der Klimaveränderungen auf die Stratosphäre zuverlässiger vorhersagen.

Um diese Ergebnisse zu erzielen, haben die Wissenschaftler zahlreiche Laborexperimente, Messungen vor Ort und Computersimulationen durchgeführt. Zu den Höhepunkten zählte die Messkampagne der "M55 Geophysica". Die russische Maschine ist das einzige Forschungsflugzeug Europas, das in Höhen von bis zu 21 Kilometern vordringen kann. Zwischen Januar und März 2010 überflog die "Geophysica" 13-mal die Arktis und sammelte Proben und Daten. Die Vorbereitung und Durchführung der Messflüge bei Temperaturen am Boden von bis zu minus 40 °C stellten für die Kampagnenteilnehmer eine besondere Herausforderung dar.

Auch wenn sich die Ozonschicht erholt, können sich durch Klimaveränderungen neue Rahmenbedingungen ergeben. Der Klimawandel könnte die Temperatur, die Zirkulationsmuster und die Chemie der Stratosphäre verändern. Das beeinflusst auch die Ozonschicht, deren Dicke sich wiederum auf die Temperatur auswirkt.

Kontakt: Hans Schlager

Link: RECONCILE Webseite (beim Forschungszentrum Jülich)

 


URL dieses Artikels
http://dlr.de/pa/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-36534/