Earth Observation Center – For Earth into Space



 

Earth Observation Center

Prof. Stefan Dech
Director DFD, Oberpfaffenhofen
 
Prof. Richard Bamler
Director IMF, Oberpfaffenhofen


The Earth Observation Center (EOC) at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) consists of the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) and the Remote Sensing Technology Institute (IMF) and is the center of competence for earth observation in Germany.
The EOC has ISO 9001:2008 certification. IMF and DFD are the leading national earth observation research and development institutions with public funding. DFD’s expertise is in operational tasks (Center for Satellite-based Crisis Information ZKI, National Remote Sensing Data Library NRSDL, international data reception facilities) as well as in the application of remote sensing to obtain information about the land surface, the atmosphere and civil crisis situations. IMF focuses on scientific research related to algorithm development, image processing, and data product development.

The primary tasks of the Earth Observation Center are

  • Conception, development and operation of an integrated ground segment for earth observation missions which includes a network of data reception stations and a German satellite data archive
  • Development of generic processors for data from a variety of remote sensing sensors, systems integration, and operational processing of large amounts of data
  • Development and generation of value-added geoinformation for environmental monitoring, climate and atmospheric research, and for applications in the domain of civil security and humanitarian aid
  • Development and operation of user-oriented service centers for rapid and long-term access to data, value-added products and derived information
  • Provision and operation of optical sensor systems for aerial remote sensing in order to prepare, calibrate and validate satellite sensors and data products
  • Conception of advanced sensor systems and missions (SAR, infrared, multispectral and hyperspectral).

Focus of the institutes comprising the Earth Observation Center

The IMF focus is mainly on developing sensor-specific algorithms and methodologies, whereas DFD concentrates on developing user-oriented products and services.

  • The methodological work of IMF is oriented toward processing radar data and toward sophisticated image analysis. A specific field of application is marine remote sensing, whereas the DFD application portfolio concentrates more on the land surface, civil security and the atmosphere.
  • IMF operates elaborate calibration facilities for optical sensors; DFD operates an integrated DLR payload ground-segment for national and European earth observation missions.

The Earth Observation Center contributes to a variety of geoscience and atmospheric research projects at internal DLR, national and international levels by processing and providing access to requested data and information. Performing such challenging interdisciplinary tasks requires considerable specialist knowledge as well as competence in the fields of physics, mathematics, information technology and engineering.

Locations and structure

The EOC is located at three DLR research centers:

  • Oberpfaffenhofen (circa 350 members of staff and directorate) with the Maritime Safety Research Department Bremen
  • Neustrelitz  (circa 50 members of staff)
  • Berlin-Adlershof (circa 15 members of staff)

Additional working groups (circa. 40) have been established at two endowed chairs at:

  • Munich Technical University TUM (IMF director) and
  • Würzburg University (DFD director)

The Earth Observation Center is composed of 13 units, with "Controlling" (EOC-CO) as a central service unit for both institutes. Central services are also provided by the "Information Technology," "Science Communication and Visualization" and "Business Development" units. EOC is managed by a joint directorate, where Prof. Bamler has the functional responsibility for IMF and Prof. Dech for DFD.

Programmatic funding

The institutional funding of the Earth Observation Center is governed by the research program of the Helmholtz-Association. The EOC is allocated to the research domains “Space & Transportation,” with DFD being predominantly active in the “Space - Earth Observation” program, while IMF also receives funding from the “Transportation” and “Aeronautics” programs. Through its participation in national, European and ESA (European Space Agency) research and development projects and by providing operations support for ESA, DFD currently finances over 50% of its budget with third party contracts. The corresponding figure for IMF is about 40%. Both institutes team up with German and international industry and SMEs in order to apply for ESA bids relating to the development and operation of European earth observation missions. Besides ESA, the most important clients are the European Commission, the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, and commercial enterprises.

EOC has ISO 9001:2008 certification.


Contact
Prof. Dr. Richard Bamler
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, Director IMF
Tel: +49 8153 28-2673

Fax: +49 8153 28-1420

E-Mail: Richard.Bamler@dlr.de
Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Director DFD
Tel: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444

E-Mail: Stefan.Dech@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5277/8858_read-15912/

Earth Observation Center – Für die Erde ins All



 

Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
Direktor DFD, Oberpfaffenhofen

Prof. Dr. Richard Bamler
Direktor IMF, Oberpfaffenhofen

 

Das Earth Observation Center (EOC) ist ein Institutsverbund im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Es wird gebildet vom Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung (IMF) und dem Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD) und ist das Kompetenzzentrum für Erdbeobachtung in Deutschland. Die Institute IMF und DFD sind die führenden nationalen Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtungen in der Erdbeobachtung mit staatlicher Finanzierung. Die tragenden Kapazitäten des DFD sind gleichermaßen betriebliche Aufgaben (eigenes Zentrum für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation, Deutsches Satellitendatenarchiv, internationale Empfangseinrichtungen) und die Anwendung der Fernerkundung mit Schwerpunkt Landoberfläche, Atmosphäre und zivile Kriseninformation. Die Schwerpunkte des IMF liegen im wissenschaftlichen Bereich (Algorithmenentwicklung, Bildverarbeitung, Produktentwicklung).

Die wichtigsten Aufgaben des EOC sind:

  • Konzeption, Entwicklung und Betrieb eines integrierten Bodensegments für Erdbeobachtungsmissionen durch ein Bodenstationsnetz und das Deutsche Satellitendatenarchiv
  • Prozessorentwicklung zur Aufbereitung von Daten unterschiedlicher Fernerkundungssensoren, Systemintegration und operationelle Verarbeitung großer Datenmengen
  • Entwicklung und Erzeugung hochwertiger Geoinformation für die Umwelterkundung, die Klima- und Atmosphärenforschung sowie für Aufgaben in den Bereichen zivile Sicherheit und humanitäre Hilfe
  • Entwicklung und Betrieb nutzerorientierter Service-Zentren für den schnellen, bedarfsgerechten und nachhaltigen Zugriff auf Daten, veredelte Produkte und Informationen
  • Bereitstellung und Betrieb optischer Sensorsysteme für die Flugzeugfernerkundung zur Vorbereitung, Kalibrierung und Validierung von Satellitensensoren und Datenprodukten
  • Konzeption neuer Sensorsysteme und Missionen (SAR, infrarot, multispektral und spektrometrisch).

Ausrichtung der Institute im Earth Observation Center

Das IMF befasst sich primär mit Themen der sensorbezogenen Algorithmen- und Verfahrensentwicklung, während das DFD auf die Entwicklung kundenspezifischer Produkte abzielt.

  • Methodisch hat das IMF Schwerpunkte in der Radardatenverarbeitung und bei Verfahren der Bildinterpretation. Ein Schwerpunkt der Anwendung ist die Gewässerfernerkundung. Das DFD-Anwendungsportfolio umfasst die Bereiche Landoberfläche, zivile Sicherheit und Atmosphäre.
  • Operativ betreibt das IMF umfangreiche Kalibrieranlagen für optische Instrumente, das DFD hingegen das integrierte DLR-Nutzlastbodensegment für nationale und europäische Erdbeobachtungsmissionen.

Das EOC unterstützt DLR-intern, national und international geo- und atmosphärenwissenschaftliche Forschungsprojekte durch die Entwicklung und Bereitstellung der benötigten Daten und Information. Zur Erfüllung dieser interdisziplinär angelegten Aufgabe setzt das EOC sowohl physikalisches, mathematisch/informationstechnisches und ingenieurwissenschaftliches als auch fachspezifisches Know-how ein.

Standorte und Struktur

Das EOC ist an drei DLR-Standorten vertreten:

  • Oberpfaffenhofen (ca. 350 Mitarbeiter und Sitz des Direktoriums) mit der Forschungsstelle Maritime Sicherheit in Bremen
  • Neustrelitz (ca. 50 Mitarbeiter) und
  • Berlin-Adlershof (ca. 15 Mitarbeiter)

Dazu kommen Arbeitsgruppen (insgesamt ca. 40 Mitarbeiter) an den DLR-Kooperationslehrstühlen der

  • TU München (IMF-Direktor) und
  • Universität Würzburg (DFD-Direktor)

Das EOC ist in 13 Abteilungen gegliedert, wobei die Abteilung "Controlling" (EOC-CO) als Zentralfunktion für beide Institute tätig ist. Weitere institutsübergreifende Funktionen werden in den Abteilungen "Informationstechnik" und "Wissenschaftskommunikation und Visualisierung" sowie durch die Stabsstelle "Geschäftsentwicklung" wahrgenommen. Das EOC wird von einem Direktorium geleitet, die fachliche Zuständigkeit für das IMF hat Prof. Dr. Bamler und für das DFD Prof. Dr. Dech.

Programmatik

Das EOC wird, wie alle DLR-Institute, durch die programmorientierte Förderung der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft gesteuert. Es ist im Forschungsbereich "Weltraum & Verkehr" angesiedelt. Das DFD arbeitet fast ausschließlich im Teilprogramm "Erdbeobachtung", während das IMF auch programmatische Mittel aus den Programmen "Verkehr" und "Luftfahrt" bezieht. Durch die Beteiligung an nationalen, europäischen und ESA F&E-Projekten sowie ESA-Betriebsunterstützung sind große Teile des DFD (aktuell über 50%) ertragsfinanziert. Die Drittmittelrate des IMF liegt bei etwa 40%. Beide Institute teamen sich mit deutscher und internationaler Industrie sowie KMUs bei der Bewerbung auf Ausschreibungen zur Entwicklung und zum Betrieb der europäischen Erdbeobachtungsmissionen. Neben der europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA sind die größten Auftraggeber die Europäische Kommission, das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und privatwirtschaftliche Unternehmen.
Das Earth Observation Center ist nach ISO 9001:2008 zertifiziert.


Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Richard Bamler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, Leitung IMF
Tel: +49 8153 28-2673

Fax: +49 8153 28-1420

E-Mail: Richard.Bamler@dlr.de
Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Leitung DFD
Tel: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444

E-Mail: Stefan.Dech@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5277/8858_read-15912/