Career opportunities : Internship

Researching while others study

Successful career paths don't just start after graduating: with an internship at the German Aerospace Center (DLR), we offer you the opportunity of using and expanding your knowledge in one of our many fascinating projects. You could be developing future manufacturing processes for ship construction, designing a test rig for solar sails in space or developing new methods for assessing lunar landing sites. From the very start, you will take responsibility for specific areas and get feedback on your technical performance. Have you chosen a technical or natural science course? Do you enjoy working autonomously in interdisciplinary teams? Are you passionate about highly innovative technologies? If so, you should apply now to a vacancy that suits your requirements or submit a speculative application to the DLR institute or facility in which you want to launch on your mission!

Our institutes and facilities offer internships of various lengths - some of them also pre-study internship – so that you can get an idea of the exciting everyday work at DLR even before starting your studies. If you want to join DLR as an intern, you will, of course, be remunerated for your activity – depending on the nature and scope of your employment with us.

Get started in the flying auditorium

Are test flights appealing to you? Then, experience one with a flight internship in our ‘flying auditorium’! We use a single-engine Cessna 208B equipped with complex measurement systems to gather meteorological data and carry out tests to investigate flight performance, assess flight properties and flight guidance procedures. Seven aerospace technology or meteorology students can each experience flight tests – not only in the aircraft, but also tracking the manoeuvres and measurement data live on their own monitor with virtual cockpit instruments. These internships – unique in Germany – are conducted by our flight department in Oberpfaffenhofen on behalf of universities.

 

Information for applicants

Related articles

Downloads

Contacts

Student placement

Career opportunities

Want to help shape the world of tomorrow through cutting-edge research? Even students can help!

Plenty of exciting jobs for junior scientists

Einstiegsarten : Praktikum

Forschen, während andere nur studieren

Erfolgreiche Berufswege beginnen nicht erst nach dem Studium: Mit einem Praktikum beim Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) bieten wir Ihnen die Chance, Ihre Kenntnisse in einem unserer vielen faszinierenden Projekte einzusetzen und zu erweitern. Vielleicht entwickeln Sie künftig Fertigungsverfahren für den Schiffbau, konzipieren einen Prüfstand für Weltraum-Sonnensegel oder entwickeln neue Verfahren zur Mondlandeplatzbewertung. Sie übernehmen bei uns von Anfang an Verantwortung für konkrete Teilbereiche und bekommen Feedback zu Ihrer fachlichen Leistung. Haben Sie einen technischen oder naturwissenschaftlichen Studiengang gewählt, arbeiten gern selbstständig in interdisziplinären Teams und begeistern sich für hochinnovative Technologien? Dann sollten Sie sich jetzt auf ein passendes Stellenangebot oder initiativ bewerben – in dem DLR-Institut oder der DLR-Einrichtung, wo Sie Ihre Mission starten möchten!

Unsere Institute und Einrichtungen bieten Praktika unterschiedlicher Länge an -einige von ihnen auch Vorpraktika zum Studium- so dass Sie noch vor Ihrem Studienbeginn in den spannenden Alltag beim DLR hineinschnuppern können. Wenn Sie als Praktikantin beim DLR einsteigen, vergüten wir Ihnen -abhängig von Art und Umfang Ihres Einsatzes bei uns- selbstverständlich Ihre Tätigkeit.

Gemeinsam durchstarten: im „fliegenden Hörsaal“

Testflugerfahrungen gefällig? Die bekommen Sie bei einem Flugpraktikum in unserem „fliegenden Hörsaal“! Mit einer einmotorigen Cessna 208B, die mit komplexen Messsystemen ausgerüstet ist, sammeln wir meteorologische Daten und führen Versuche zur Ermittlung der Flugleistung, Beurteilung der Flugeigenschaften und Verfahren in der Flugführung durch. Jeweils sieben Studierende der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik oder Meteorologie können die Flugversuche nicht nur im Flugzeug miterleben, sondern die Manöver und Messdaten auch auf einem eigenen Monitor mit virtuellen Cockpitinstrumenten detailliert live mitverfolgen. Diese -in Deutschland übrigens einzigartigen- Praktika führt unsere Flugabteilung in Oberpfaffenhofen im Auftrag von Universitäten durch.

 

Bewerberinformation

Artikel zum Thema

Kontakte

Studentische Tätigkeit

Einstiegsarten

Durch Spitzenforschung die Welt von morgen mitgestalten? Das übernehmen bei uns schon Studierende!

Jede Menge spannende Aufgaben für angehende Forscher und Forscherinnen