Lander experiments
Europe`s comet chaser
Mission Rosetta
theme

Philae lander instruments

Instrumente des Philae-Landegeräts der Rosetta-Mission
Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Übersicht über die Instrumente an Bord der Landesonde Philae

    Philae landing craft - Overview of the instruments

    Overview of the instruments on board the Philae landing craft in the Rosetta Mission.

Philae – a high-tech cube with an edge length of roughly one metre – is the name of the landing craft in the Rosetta Mission. Its main purpose is to conduct on the ground analysis of the comet material, probably the most primeval and oldest material found anywhere in the Solar System. The analysis is designed to focus in particular on element and isotope distribution, organic molecules, minerals and ice. The main purpose of analysing the structure and properties of the comet core is to determine the surface properties, the physical characteristics of the comet core and the structure of its layers, alongside the global internal structure. Furthermore, observations will zero in on and examine the repercussions of temporal variations, prompted by the day/night cycle and the emergence of the comet’s tail as it approaches the Sun.

Almost all of the flanks on the landing craft are fitted with solar power cells that on average can generate around eight watts of electrical energy for the scientific experiments. Energy is a scarce and valuable resource on a comet, as the available sunlight in this distant location, so far from the Sun, is barely a tenth of what it would be on Earth. So the landing craft is fitted with additional primary and secondary batteries to store the energy, and is also a divided into warm and cold areas; the heated zones are used to improve the performance of the experiments, while the cold zones are merely fitted with insulating foil to protect against the permanently harsh external environment (minus 50 degrees Celsius to minus 170 degrees Celsius).

The 10 instruments on board the lander:

APX (Alpha-Particle-X-Ray-Spectrometer)

APX is a spectrometer used to analyse the elemental composition of material found directly on the comet's surface.

Principal Investigator (PI): Göstar Klingelhöfer, Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany.

CIVA (Comet Infrared and Visible Analyser)

CIVA consists of the panorama camera system seen here, used to analyse the landing site, and microscopes to represent and provide spectroscopy of the material samples from the comet's surface acquired using the drill SD2.

Principal Investigator (PI): Jean-Pierre Bibring, Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale, Université Paris Sud, Orsay, France.

CONSERT (Comet Nucleus Sounding Experiment by Radio wave Transmission)

CONSERT is a radio wave probe used for tomography of the comet core using interaction with the orbiter.

Principal Investigator (PI): Wlodek Kofman, Institut de Planétologie et d'Astrophysique de Grenoble, Grenoble, France.

COSAC (Cometary Sampling and Composition)

COSAC is deployed to identify the elementary, isotopic and chemical composition of the frozen components on the comet’s surface and down to a depth of around 30 centimetres. The instrument contains a mass spectrometer and a gas chromatograph and will analyse the organic components (for instance amino acids, if found) in particular.

Principal Investigator (PI): Fred Goesmann, Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Katlenburg-Lindau, Germany.

MUPUS (Multi-Purpose Sensors for Surface and Subsurface Science)

MUPUS uses an array of sensors to measure the surface temperature and temperature profiles close to the surface, also the thermal conductivity of the surface material and the solidity of the comet’s material. The most important scientific objectives with which MUPUS is charged are to determine the thermal and mechanical properties found in the outer layers of a comet and to identify the energy balance on the comet's surface and outer layers. The results acquired using this instrument should help achieve better understanding of cometary activity and may permit statements on the original nature of material. It also contributes to the cosmo-chemical experiments that the Philae landing craft will perform.

Principal Investigator (PI): Tilman Spohn, Institute of Planetary Research, German Aerospace Center, Berlin, Germany.

Co-Investigators: Matthias Grott, Jörg Knollenberg, Ekkehard Kührt, Institute of Planetary Research, German Aerospace Center, Berlin, Deutschland.

PTOLEMY

PTOLEMY is a mass spectrometer with upstream gas chromatograph to analyse the isotopic composition of drilled specimens.

Principal Investigator (PI): Ian Wright, Open University, Milton Keynes, UK.

ROLIS (Rosetta Lander Imaging System)

ROLIS is one of two camera systems on board the Rosetta landing craft Philae. ROLIS will use a miniaturised CCD camera to shoot high spatial resolution images of the landing site on the comet as Philae descends from the orbiter. After landing, ROLIS will focus on a distance of 30 centimetres to take images of the comet’s surface beneath the landing craft. A lamp fitted with four monochromatic light emitting diodes in a spectral range of 470, 530, 600 and 4870 nanometres will permit multispectral images. The system will also shoot pictures of the point where the drilled samples are taken and the areas designated for analysis by the alpha X-Ray spectrometer (APXS). This will provide pictures of the immediate environment for comparison with measurements conducted in the in-situ analyser. The drill hole will be inspected once drilling is complete to study its morphology and to look for signs of different layers (stratification). The landing craft is able to rotate and to take stereo image pairs, hence facilitating cartography and the identification of surface structures.

Principal Investigator (PI): Stefano Mottola, Institute of Planetary Research, German Aerospace Center, Berlin, Germany.

Co-Investigators: Gerhard Hahn, Ralf Jaumann, Gabriele Arnold, Institute of Planetary Research, German Aerospace Center, Berlin, Germany.

ROMAP (Rosetta Lander Magnetometer and Plasmamonitor)

ROMAP determines the comet's magnetic field and its plasma environment.

Principal Investigator (PI): Hans-Ulrich Auster, Technische Universität, Braunschweig, Germany; István Apáthy, KFKI, Budapest, Hungary.

SD2 (Sample, Drill and Distribution)

SD2 is a drilling mechanism to acquire samples from a depth of up to 30 centimetres.

Principal Investigator (PI): Amalia Ercoli-Finzi, Politecnico di Milano, Milan, Italy.

SESAME (Surface Electric Sounding and Acoustic Monitoring Experiment)

SESAME is equipped with sensors to measure the acoustic and dielectric properties of the comet core and its structure close to the surface, along with a particle impact monitor. SESAME consists of the instruments CASSE, DIM and PP.

The instrument CASSE (Cometary Acoustic Surface Sounding Experiment) will use acoustic methodologies to analyse the structure of the material found beneath the comet's surface. It offers two means of measurement: one passive, which, like a seismometer, listens in on the comet, and one active, which is similar to an echo sounder and probes the surface layers.

The Dust Impact Monitor (DIM) registers the signals caused by the impact of cometary dust and ice particles on the sensor cube. The measurements can determine the number, mass and velocity of the particles.

The Permittivity Probe (PP) instrument determines the water ice content in the cometary surface layers and its change over time. To do this PP uses quadrupole technology in which two electrodes connected with an alternating current generator induce variable current in the comet’s soil.

Principal Investigator (PI): Klaus Seidensticker, Institute of Planetary Research, German Aerospace Center, Berlin, Germany; István Apáthy, KFKI , Budapest, Hungary.

Co-Investigators: H.-H. Fischer, Martin Knapmeyer, Institute of Planetary Research, German Aerospace Center, Berlin, Germany.

Last modified:
19/02/2014 15:52:55

Contacts

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Stephan Ulamec
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Operations and Astronaut Training

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4567
Dr.rer.nat. Ekkehard Kührt
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Asteroids and Comets

Tel.: +49 30 67055-514

Fax: +49 30 67055-340

Experimente Lander
Europas Kometenjäger
Mission Rosetta
theme

Instrumente des Philae-Landers

Instrumente des Philae-Landegeräts der Rosetta-Mission
Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Übersicht über die Instrumente an Bord der Landesonde Philae

    Philae-Landesonde: Übersicht über die Instrumente

    Übersicht der Instrumente an Bord der Landesonde Philae der Kometenmission Rosetta.

Das Landegerät der Rosetta-Mission mit Namen Philae - ein High-Tech-Würfel mit einer Kantenlänge von etwa einem Meter - ist bestückt mit zehn wissenschaftlichen Instrumenten. Seine Hauptaufgabe ist die Vor-Ort-Analyse des Kometenmaterials, des wohl ursprünglichsten und ältesten Materials, das es in unserem Sonnensystem gibt. Insbesondere sollen Element- und Isotopenverteilung, organische Moleküle sowie Minerale und Eise untersucht werden. Bei der Analyse der Struktur und Eigenschaften des Kometenkerns geht es vor allem um die Oberflächenbeschaffenheit, die physikalischen Eigenschaften des Kometenkerns sowie die Schichtungsstruktur und die globale interne Struktur. Zudem sollen die Auswirkungen zeitlicher Variationen beobachtet und untersucht werden, die durch den Tag- und Nachtzyklus sowie die Schweifbildung bei der Annäherung an die Sonne entstehen.

Der Lander ist auf nahezu allen Seiten mit Solarzellen verkleidet, die im Mittel etwa acht Watt an elektrischer Energie für die wissenschaftlichen Experimente erzeugen können. Da die verfügbare Sonnenenergie in diesem sonnenfernen Bereich nur etwa ein Zehntel der erdnahen beträgt, ist die erzeugbare Energie auf einem Kometen ein knappes und wertvolles Gut. Der Lander hat zusätzlich Primär- und Sekundärbatterien zum Zwischenspeichern der Energie, und er verfügt über warme und kalte Bereiche, also Bereiche, die geheizt werden, um ein besseres Funktionieren der Experimente zu ermöglichen, und Bereiche, die nur durch Isolationsfolie vor der stets kalten Umgebung (minus 50 Grad Celsius bis minus 170 Grad Celsius) geschützt sind. Alle Vorgänge auf dem Lander werden von einem zentralen, redundant ausgelegten Bordcomputer geregelt.

Die zehn Instrumente des Landegeräts:

APX (Alpha-Particle-X-Ray-Spectrometer)

APX (Alpha-Particle-X-Ray-Spectrometer) ist ein Spektrometer zur Untersuchung der Elementzusammensetzung der Materie direkt an der Oberfläche des Kometen. Principal Investigator (PI): Göstar Klingelhöfer, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität, Mainz, Deutschland.

CIVA (Comet Infrared and Visible Analyzer)

CIVA besteht aus dem abbildenden Panorama-Kamerasystem zur Untersuchung des Landeplatzes und Mikroskopen zur Abbildung und Spektroskopie der mit dem Bohrer SD2 gewonnenen Materialproben aus der Kometenoberfläche.
Principal Investigator (PI): Jean-Pierre Bibring, Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale, Université Paris Sud, Orsay, Frankreich.

CONSERT (Comet Nucleus Sounding Experiment by Radio wave Transmission)

CONSERT ist eine Radiowellen-Sonde zur Tomografie (Durchleuchtung) des Kometenkerns im Zusammenspiel mit dem Orbiter.
Principal Investigator (PI): Wlodek Kofman, Institut de Planétologie et d'Astrophysique de Grenoble, Grenoble, Frankreich.

COSAC (Cometary Sampling and Composition)

COSAC dient der Bestimmung der elementaren, isotopischen und chemischen Zusammensetzung der gefrorenen Komponenten der Kometenoberfläche bis in rund 30 Zentimeter Tiefe. Das Instrument beinhaltet ein Massenspektrometer und einen Gaschromatographen und wird vor allem die organischen Komponenten (falls vorhanden auch zum Beispiel Aminosäuren) analysieren.
Principal Investigator (PI): Fred Goesmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung, Katlenburg-Lindau, Deutschland.

MUPUS (Multi-Purpose Sensors for Surface and Subsurface Science)

MUPUS misst mit mehreren Sensoren die Oberflächentemperatur und oberflächennahen Temperaturprofile, die thermische Leitfähigkeit des Oberflächenmaterials sowie die Festigkeit der kometaren Materie. Die wichtigsten wissenschaftlichen Ziele von MUPUS sind die Bestimmung der thermischen und mechanischen Eigenschaften der äußeren Schichten eines Kometen, die Bestimmung der Energiebilanz der kometaren Oberfläche sowie der Grenzschichten. Durch die Ergebnisse dieses Instruments sollen die Mechanismen kometarer Aktivität verstanden werden sowie Aussagen über die Ursprünglichkeit der Materie getroffen werden können. Außerdem unterstützt es die kosmochemischen Experimente des Philae-Landers.

Principal Investigator (PI): Tilman Spohn, Institut für Planetenforschung, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Berlin, Deutschland.
Co-Investigatoren: Matthias Grott, Jörg Knollenberg, Ekkehard Kührt, Institut für Planetenforschung, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Berlin, Deutschland.

PTOLEMY

PTOLEMY ist ein Massenspektrometer mit vorschaltbarem Gaschromatographen zur Untersuchung der isotopischen Zusammensetzung der Bohrproben.
Principal Investigator (PI): Ian Wright, Open University, Milton Keynes, Großbritannien.

ROLIS (Rosetta Lander Imaging System)

ROLIS ist eines der zwei Kamerasysteme auf dem Rosetta Lander Philae. Mit der miniaturisierten CCD-Kamera wird ROLIS Bilder von der Landestelle auf dem Kometen während des Abstiegs vom Orbiter aufnehmen, und zwar mit immer höherer räumlicher Auflösung. Nach der Landung wird ROLIS sich auf einen Abstand von 30 Zentimeter fokussieren, um Bilder von der Kometenoberfläche unterhalb des Landers aufzunehmen. Multispektrale Aufnahmen werden mittels einer Lampe ermöglicht, die mit vier monochromatischen Leuchtdioden in den Spektralbereichen 470, 530, 640 und 870 Nanometer ausgestattet ist. Die Stelle, wo Bohrproben entnommen werden, sowie das Gebiet, das mit dem Alpha X-Ray Spektrometer (APXS) untersucht werden soll, werden abgebildet, um Aufnahmen des Umfeldes zu erhalten, damit diese mit den Messungen des In situ-Analysators verglichen werden können. Nach Abschluss der Bohrungen soll das Bohrloch inspiziert werden, um dessen Morphologie zu studieren und um nach Anzeichen von unterschiedlichen Schichten (Stratifizierungen) zu suchen. Durch die Rotationsmöglichkeit des Landers können Stereobildpaare aufgenommen werden, was das Kartographieren und die Identifikation der Oberflächenstrukturen erleichtern soll.

Principal Investigator (PI): Stefano Mottola, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Berlin, Deutschland.
Co-Investigatoren: Gerhard Hahn, Ralf Jaumann, Gabriele Arnold, Institut für Planetenforschung, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Berlin, Deutschland.

ROMAP (Rosetta Lander Magnetometer and Plasmamonitor)

ROMAP ermittelt das Magnetfeld des Kometen und seine Plasmaumgebung.
Principal Investigator (PI): Hans-Ulrich Auster, Technische Universität, Braunschweig, Deutschland; István Apáthy, KFKI , Budapest, Ungarn.

SD2 (Sample, Drill and Distribution)

SD2 ist ein Bohrmechanismus zur Gewinnung von Proben aus bis zu 30 Zentimeter Tiefe.
Principal Investigator (PI): Amalia Ercoli-Finzi, Politecnico di Milano, Mailand, Italien.

SESAME (Surface Electric Sounding and Acoustic Monitoring Experiment)

SESAME umfasst Sensoren zur Messung der akustischen und dielektrischen Eigenschaften des Kometenkerns und seiner oberflächennahen Struktur sowie einen Partikeleinschlag-Monitor. SESAME besteht aus den Instrumenten CASSE, DIM und PP.

Das Instrument CASSE (Cometary Acoustic Surface Sounding Experiment) wird mittels akustischer Methoden die Struktur des Materials unter der Kometenoberfläche untersuchen. Es bietet zwei Messmöglichkeiten: eine passive, die, ähnlich einem Seismometer, in den Kometen hineinhorcht und eine aktive, die, ähnlich einem Echolot, eine Sondierung der Oberflächenschichten durchführt

Der Dust Impact Monitor (DIM) registriertdie Signale, die durch den Aufprall kometarer Staub- und Eisteilchen auf einem Sensor-Würfel entstehen.. Aus den Messungen können Anzahl, Masse und Geschwindigkeit der Teilchen ermittelt werden.

Das Instrument Permittivity Probe (PP) bestimmt den Wassereisgehalt in der kometaren Oberflächenschicht und seine Veränderung mit der Zeit. PP verwendet dazu die Quadrupoltechnik, bei der zwei Elektroden, verbunden mit einem Wechselstromgenerator, einen variablen Strom im Kometenboden induzieren.

Principal Investigator (PI): Klaus Seidensticker, Institut für Planetenforschung, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Berlin, Deutschland; István Apáthy, KFKI , Budapest, Ungarn.
Co-Investigatoren: H.-H. Fischer, Martin Knapmeyer, Institut für Planetenforschung, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Berlin, Deutschland.
 

Zuletzt geändert am:
07.02.2014 13:39:45 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Stephan Ulamec
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Nutzerzentrum für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC) Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4567
Dr. Ekkehard Kührt
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-514

Fax: +49 30 67055-340