Mars Express

Animations

  • loading with js...

All years

Das Talsystem Kasei Valles auf dem Mars

Virtual flight over the mouth of the Kasei Valles region

14. January 2014

This impressive video takes us on a virtual flight over the mouth of the Kasei Valles region. Earlier in the planet's history, enormous amounts of water flowed through the Martian highlands, sculpting these valleys and leaving its trace in the landscape.

Animation: Mars - our red neighbour

18. June 2013

In addition to giant volcanoes and deep rift valleys, Mars has even more spectacular landscapes. Experience the various features of this planet in fascinating images acquired with DLR's High Resolution Stereo Camera on board the Mars Express spacecraft.

Video: 10 years of Mars Express

29. May 2013

The vertical exaggeration factor of the digital terrain model in this video is 2.5. The European Mars Express mission was launched from Baikonur Cosmodrome on 2 June 2003. The High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) on board the spacecraft has enabled planetary researchers to view Mars in three dimensions. The Institute of Planetary Research at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) developed and is operating the camera.

Animation: Virtual flight around Gale Crater

3. August 2012

Using images acquired by the High Resolution Camera (HRSC) on board ESA's Mars Express spacecraft, DLR researchers have created a 3D virtual flight over the landing site of the Mars Science Laboratory in the 150-kilometre-sized Gale Crater. The landing scenario is also visible at the end.

Phobos und Jupiter in einer Linie (Konjunktion)

Animation: Phobos and Jupiter in alignment (conjunction)

20. December 2011

On 1 June 2011, Mars Express carried out a special manoeuvre to observe a conjunction between Phobos and Jupiter. The animation shows Phobos moving from right to left through the camera’s field of view, then – outside this sequence of images – disappearing behind Mars. At the same time, Mars Express was approaching apoapsis – the furthest point from Mars in its orbit. At the moment that Mars Express, Phobos and Jupiter were aligned, the distance between Mars Express and Phobos was 11,389 kilometres, and another 529 million kilometres to Jupiter. This means that Jupiter was almost 50,000 times as far from Mars Express as Phobos, which is the reason why in this foreshortened perspective the largest planet in the Solar System, with a diameter of 140,000 kilometres, appears significantly smaller than the Martian moon located almost directly in front of the camera lens. While Mars Express and Phobos were continually moving forwards, the Super Resolution Channel (SRC) in the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) remained fixed on Jupiter. The image sequence contains a total of 104 separate images, taken within 68 seconds. The observation and simultaneous determination of the exact time at which Jupiter moved behind the Martian moon were used to improve the orbital data for Phobos. A motion de-blurring algorithm from the Chinese University of Hong Kong was used to improve the image quality (subtract the motion blurring). These improved SRC images were used for the animation. However, the images were moved horizontally by one pixel to fill in the gaps. Furthermore, the contrast was altered slightly. The shown animation was generated at the Institute for Geological Sciences at the Freie Universität Berlin and published there as 'Highlights of the Month' in 2011. They present special Mars products obtained using the HRSC camera on board Mars Express.

Animation: Flight over the central part of Valles Marineris. Credit: ESA/DLR/FU Berlin (G. Neukum).

20. December 2011

This animation shows a flight over the region of the Chasmata Melas, Candor and Ophir in the central part of Valles Marineris. ‘Chasma’ (= Greek for "fissure/canyon", plural ‘chasmata’) refers to deep valleys and canyons on Mars and Venus bound by steep cliff faces. Valles Marineris is a huge rift valley system over 4000 kilometres in length, 200 kilometres wide and up to 11 kilometres deep. Images from 13 HRSC orbits were used for the sequence shown. The graphics were generated using the LightWave software package. Because of the size of the original mosaic (25 metres per pixels for the image data from the nadir channel, the HRSC camera system channel directed vertically onto the surface of Mars), the mosaic needed to be down-sampled to 50 metres per pixel for the image data animation. The shown animation was generated at the Institute for Geological Sciences at the Freie Universität Berlin and published there as 'Highlights of the Month' in 2011. They present special Mars products obtained using the HRSC camera on board Mars Express.

Der Nicholson%2dKrater

Animation: Nicholson Crater

20. December 2011

The animation shows a simulated flight over Nicholson Crater. The crater is around 100 kilometres in diameter and lies to the northwest of the Medusae Fossae region. In the centre of the crater is an elevated area around 55 kilometres long and 37 kilometres wide that towers around three and a half kilometres above its surroundings. To date, it is not clear what this structure inside the impact crater is and which geological processes have caused its formation. There is some controversy as to whether the material came from underground, meaning it is of volcanic origin, or whether it was transported and deposited there by the Martian atmosphere. The crater was almost completely covered during HRSC orbit 1104. The best ground resolution by the nadir channel, the HRSC camera system channel directed vertically onto the surface of Mars, is 12.8 metres per pixel. The digital terrain model (DTM) has a resolution of 75 metres per pixel. The graphics were generated using the LightWave software. The shown animation was generated at the Institute for Geological Sciences at the Freie Universität Berlin and published there as 'Highlights of the Month' in 2011. They present special Mars products obtained using the HRSC camera on board Mars Express.

Animationen

Animationen

  • loading with js...

Alle Jahrgänge

Das Talsystem Kasei Valles auf dem Mars

Animation: Virtueller Flug über das Mündungsgebiet des Talsystems Kasei Valles auf dem Mars

14. Januar 2014

Eindrucksvoll zeigt dieses Video einen virtuellen Flug über das Mündungsgebiet des Talsystems Kasei Valles auf dem Mars. In der Frühzeit des Planeten sind hier gewaltige Wassermassen durch das Marshochland geströmt und haben dabei zahlreiche Spuren in der Landschaft hinterlassen.

Animation: Mars - Der rote Nachbar

18. Juni 2013

Der Mars hat neben Vulkangiganten und Riesengräben noch mehr spektakuläre Landschaften zu bieten. Erleben Sie die Vielfalt dieses Planeten in faszinierenden Aufnahmen der hochauflösenden Stereokamera HRSC des DLR an Bord der ESA-Raumsonde Mars Express.

Video: 10 Jahre Mars Express

29. Mai 2013

Am 2. Juni 2003 startete die europäische Sonde Mars Express vom Weltraumbahnhof in Baikonur zum Roten Planeten. Die Stereokamera HRSC (High Resolution Stereo Camera) an Bord der Sonde ermöglicht es den Planetenforschern, den Mars dreidimensional zu sehen. Das Institut für Planetenforschung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelte und betreibt die Kamera.

Animation: Rundflug um den Gale-Krater

3. August 2012

DLR-Wissenschaftler simulierten mit Stereo-Aufnahmen der vom DLR betriebenen Mars-Express-Kamera HRSC einen virtuellen 3D-Flug über das Landegebiet des "Mars Science Laboratory" (MSL) auf dem Grund des 150 Kilometer großen Krater Gale. Auch das szenario des Landeanflugs ist zu sehen.

Phobos und Jupiter in einer Linie (Konjunktion)

Animation: Phobos und Jupiter in einer Linie (Konjunktion)

20. Dezember 2011

Am 1. Juni 2011 führte Mars Express ein spezielles Manöver durch, um eine Konjunktion zwischen Phobos und Jupiter zu beobachten. Die Animation zeigt, wie sich Phobos entgegen dem Uhrzeigersinn von rechts nach links durch das Sichtfeld der Kamera bewegt und dann - schon außerhalb der Bildsequenz - hinter dem Mars verschwindet. Gleichzeitig nähert sich Mars Express auf seiner Bahn um den Mars der Apoapsis, also dem marsfernsten Punkt seiner Umlaufbahn. In dem Moment, als sich Mars Express, Phobos und Jupiter in einer Linie befanden, betrug der Abstand zwischen Mars Express und Phobos 11.389 Kilometer sowie weitere 529 Millionen Kilometer zum Jupiter: Jupiter ist also fast 50.000 mal so weit von Mars Express entfernt wie Phobos, und genau aus diesem Grund erscheint der größte Planet des Sonnensystems mit seinem Durchmesser von 140.000 Kilometern in dieser verkürzten Perspektive deutlich kleiner als der fast "unmittelbar" vor der Linse der Kamera befindliche Marsmond. Während Mars Express und Phobos sich kontinuierlich weiterbewegten, fixierte der Super Resolution Channel (SRC) der hochauflösenden Stereokamera (HRSC) Jupiter. Die Bildsequenz beinhaltet insgesamt 104 Einzelbilder, die innerhalb von 68 Sekunden aufgenommen wurden. Die Beobachtung und die gleichzeitige Feststellung des exakten Zeitpunktes, zu dem Jupiter sich hinter den Mars-Mond bewegt, können genutzt werden, um die Bahndaten von Phobos zu verbessern. Zur Verbesserung der Bildqualität (Herausrechnen von Bewegungsunschärfe) wurde ein "Motion-Deblurring"-Algorithmus der Chinese University of Hong Kong angewandt. In der Animation wurden diese verbesserten SRC-Bilder verwendet. Allerdings wurden hier in den Lücken die Bilder um einen Pixel horizontal verschoben. Zusätzlich wurde noch der Kontrast leicht verändert. Die hier gezeigte Animation wurde vom Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften der FU Berlin erstellt und im Jahr 2011 als 'Highlight des Monats' veröffentlicht. Die 'Highlights' stellen besondere Bildprodukte wie Mosaike, Animationen oder 3D-Anaglpyhenbilder auf Grundlage der am DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung systematisch verarbeiteten Mars Express HRSC-Stereo-Bilddaten dar.

Animation: Überflug über den zentralen Teil der Valles Marineris; Video: ESA/DLR/FU Berlin (G. Neukum)

20. Dezember 2011

Diese Animation zeigt einen Überflug über die Region um die Chasmata Melas, Candor und Ophir im zentralen Teil der Valles Marineris. Als Chasma (gr. für Spalte, Schlucht; Plural: Chasmata) bezeichnet man auf dem Mars und der Venus tiefe, durch steile Felswände begrenzte Täler und Schluchten. Die Valles Marineris sind ein riesiges Grabenbruchsystem von mehr als 4.000 Kilometern Länge, 200 Kilometern Breite und bis zu elf Kilometern Tiefe. Für die gezeigte Sequenz wurden Aufnahmen aus insgesamt 13 Orbits der High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) verwendet. Die Animation wurde mit der Software LightWave erstellt. Aufgrund der Größe des ursprünglichen Mosaiks (25 Meter pro Bildpunkt für die Bilddaten des Nadirkanals, der senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichtete Aufnahmekanal des Kamerasystems HRSC) musste für die Animation der Bilddaten das Mosaik auf 50 Meter pro Bildpunkt (Pixel) heruntergerechnet werden. Die hier gezeigte Animation wurde vom Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften der FU Berlin erstellt und im Jahr 2011 als 'Highlight des Monats' veröffentlicht. Die 'Highlights' stellen besondere Bildprodukte wie Mosaike, Animationen oder 3D-Anaglpyhenbilder auf Grundlage der am DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung systematisch verarbeiteten Mars Express HRSC-Stereo-Bilddaten dar.

Der Nicholson%2dKrater

Animation: Der Nicholson-Krater

20. Dezember 2011

Die Animation zeigt einen simulierten Flug über den Krater Nicholson. Der Krater hat einen Durchmesser von etwa 100 Kilometern und liegt nordwestlich der Region Medusae Fossae. Im Zentrum des Kraters befindet sich eine etwa 55 Kilometer lange und 37 Kilometer breite Erhebung. Bis heute ist noch völlig unklar, worum es sich bei dieser Struktur im Innern des Einschlagskraters handelt und welcher geologische Vorgang zur Bildung dieser Form geführt hat. Der Krater wurde fast komplett vom Orbit 1104 der High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) abgedeckt. Die beste Bodenauflösung des Nadir-Kanals, des senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Kanals der HRSC, beträgt 12,8 Meter pro Bildpunkt (Pixel). Das digitale Geländemodell (DGM) besitzt eine Auflösung von 75 Meter pro Bildpunkt (Pixel). Die Animation wurde mit der Software LightWave erstellt. Die hier gezeigte Animation wurde vom Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften der Freien Universität Berlin erstellt und im Jahr 2011 als 'Highlight des Monats' veröffentlicht. Die 'Highlights' stellen besondere Bildprodukte wie Mosaike, Animationen oder 3D-Anaglpyhenbilder auf Grundlage der am DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung systematisch verarbeiteten Mars Express HRSC-Stereo-Bilddaten dar.