The ROSAT mission – frequently asked questions

  • Künstlerische Darstellung des Rosat%2dSatelliten im All Künstlerische Darstellung des Rosat%2dSatelliten im All

    Artist's impression of the ROSAT satellite in space

    Artist's impression of the ROSAT satellite as it orbits the Earth. ROSAT was used to conduct research into X-ray sources.

  • Beispielhafte Darstellung der Position von Rosat Beispielhafte Darstellung der Position von Rosat

    Sample representation based on three consecutive orbits of ROSAT

    A sample representation based on three consecutive orbits of ROSAT around the Earth. Each of these orbits has a duration of about 90 minutes. The path of one orbit to another gradually changes above Earth's surface. This image shows ROSAT on 12 April 2011.

  • Rosat%2dAufnahme des gesamten Himmels im Röntgenlicht Rosat%2dAufnahme des gesamten Himmels im Röntgenlicht

    ROSAT images the entire sky in X-rays

    This image, obtained with ROSAT during its all-sky survey in 1990 and 1991, shows the entire sky in X-rays. In this image, our Milky Way lies at the level of the equator, where supernovae remnants (for example in the Vela constellation on the right half of the image) and X-ray binaries can be seen. The various colours indicate the different energy strengths of the X-ray radiation.

  • Rosat startete am 1. Juni 1990 an Bord einer Delta%2dII%2dRakete von Cape Canaveral Rosat startete am 1. Juni 1990 an Bord einer Delta%2dII%2dRakete von Cape Canaveral

    ROSAT was launched from Cape Canaveral on 1 June 1990 on board a Delta II rocket

    This X-ray satellite was launched from Cape Canaveral in Florida on 1 June 1990 on board a Delta II rocket property of NASA. Originally, the plan was to put Rosat in Earth orbit on board a US Space Shuttle. Following the explosion of Challenger in 1986 (when ROSAT was under construction), it was decided to launch the X-ray satellite into orbit on board a rocket.

loading
 

Since its launch on 1 June 1990, friction due to Earth's upper atmosphere has been causing the X-ray satellite ROSAT to lose altitude continuously. When the spacecraft re-enters the atmosphere, which is expected to occur in October 2011, the satellite will disintegrate and most of the fragments will burn up in the extreme heat caused by atmospheric friction. This FAQ provides answers to the most common questions about the ROSAT mission and its re-entry.  

  • Why was the ROSAT mission discontinued?

    The ROSAT mission was designed to last for 18 months. However, it proved to be such a great success in terms of the scientific benefits it provided that the mission was extended for as long as was technically feasible. For a long time, it proved possible to offset the effects of age-related deterioration in ROSAT’s onboard systems. For example, in 1993, following the failure of gyros that control the orientation of the satellite in space, a new kind of control system was implemented. This system used the direction of the Sun and the Earth's magnetic field to determine the spacecraft orientation. Then, in 1994, the gas supply required for the measurements conducted by the Position Sensitive Proportional Counter (PSPC) ran out, after which observations were performed using only the High Resolution Imager (HRI), an instrument that required no consumables. Finally, in 1998, the mission came to an end. The failure of a star tracker caused the remaining HRI detector to point directly at the Sun, causing irreversible damage. Since no further scientific use could be made of the satellite, it was shut down on 12 February 1999, more than eight and a half years after its launch. 

  • What scientific tasks were performed by ROSAT?

    Extremely hot and energetic processes taking place throughout the Universe produce X-rays. These processes often involve extreme states of matter such as black holes or neutron stars. To understand these processes, the origin, spectral composition and energy distribution of the X-ray radiation has to be determined. Since Earth's atmosphere absorbs X-ray radiation, preventing it from being observed from the ground, the ROSAT satellite, which was equipped with an X-ray telescope, was needed to do this. It discovered that almost all astronomical objects emit X-ray radiation, including some objects where this had not been expected. The observed objects included the Moon, comets, stars, X-ray binary stars, neutron stars, supernovae and supernova remnants, the interstellar medium, galaxies, active galactic nuclei, black holes, nebulae and the cosmic X-ray background. The results have been documented in many publications. Observations at other wavelengths (visible light, radio, infrared and gamma radiation) supplement the information relating to these astronomical objects.

  • What were the most important scientific results of the ROSAT mission?

    Over the course of its eight-year service life, ROSAT greatly exceeded the original expectations of the scientific community, performing a large number of excellent scientific observations. It is only possible to very briefly list here the objects observed and the discoveries made: the first ever full-sky survey with an imaging X-ray telescope, the resolution of the cosmic X-ray background into individual sources, observation and analysis of the hot gas that fills the gravitational potential of galactic clusters, the observation of supernova remnants, the discovering of 'super-soft sources' in the Large Magellanic Cloud and, finally, the surprising discovery that comets also emit X-ray radiation. The ROSAT catalogue of pointed Position Sensitive Proportional Counter (PSPC) observations, revised in 2001, includes the positions and count rates of more than 100,000 X-ray sources.

  • How did the ROSAT X-ray telescope work?

    The optics for an X-ray telescope are completely different to those familiar from visible light or infrared telescopes. A normal lens or a mirror would simply absorb X-ray radiation. X-ray radiation is only reflected if its strikes a highly polished surface at a very shallow angle. Based on these findings, Hans Wolter, a physicist who lived and worked in Kiel, Germany, developed a tubular X-ray optical system in 1951, in which X-ray radiation is focussed by grazing-incidence reflection, a technique now known now as the ‘Wolter mirror’. Since only the radiation from a narrow, annular region contributes towards the effective area, ROSAT used four different sizes of Wolter mirror, nested concentrically inside one another. At the focal point, located 2.4 metres behind the mirrors, three detectors were arranged on a carousel, allowing them to be moved into the incoming beam path one at a time. The three detectors were two identical Position Sensitive Proportional Counters (PSPC) and one channel plate detector, the High Resolution Imager (HRI). The two types of detector complemented one another in the tasks they performed. The PSPC, developed at the Max-Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics in Garching, Germany, had a large field of view, an energy resolution that made it possible to distinguish four energy bands, or ‘colours’, and high sensitivity but a lower spatial resolution than the HRI. The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory in Cambridge, Massachusetts, developed the HRI, which was supplied by NASA. The HRI had a higher spatial resolution, but a smaller field of view than the PSPC, and no energy resolution capability. The PSPC therefore took X-ray ‘colour photographs’, whereas the HRI delivered sharper 'monochrome' imagery.

  • What specific benefits do the scientific results that were obtained with ROSAT have?

    The scientific objective of ROSAT was in the domain of basic research, that is, it was never intended to deliver immediate practical benefits. Instead, its aim was to improve our understanding of the origin, structure and evolution of the Universe. In the long term, basic research can also have significant economic impact. The economic strength of Germany is based to an extent on developments from quantum physics (for example, the laser), and the theory of gravitation (for example, navigation systems), neither of which were foreseen when these two disciplines emerged in the early part of the 20th century. In addition, the money for space missions of this kind is spent here on Earth. This creates work for highly skilled individuals, it serves to train new scientific talent and it also encourages the development of new technologies and methods, because projects of this kind always work at the limit of what is technologically feasible during their implementation.

  • Will the re-entry of ROSAT be controlled in any way?

    ROSAT has no propulsion system on board that could be used to alter its orbit or re-entry trajectory; this means that the re-entry of ROSAT cannot be controlled. Also, since its mission ended back in 1999, ROSAT is no longer able to communicate with DLR's control centre in Oberpfaffenhofen. After more than eight years of operation, many components on the satellite had been operated well beyond their expected service lives. Alongside the loss of the X-ray sensors and the malfunctioning of the gyros mentioned in earlier answers, many other components such as the batteries that provided the satellite with power had become so old that they were either working only to a limited extent, or had ceased to function altogether. It is therefore no longer possible to establish contact with the spacecraft.

  • Will ROSAT burn up as it re-enters Earth’s atmosphere?

    When spacecraft and space debris leave their orbits and enter Earth’s atmosphere, they are travelling at speeds in excess of 27,500 kilometres per hour. In less than 10 minutes, they are slowed down to subsonic speeds by the friction of re-entry. The air resistance experienced during re-entry generates a massive amount of heat. Without special equipment, such as the heat shields fitted to the American space shuttle, re-entering objects burn up – to a very large extent or even completely. Heat and aerodynamic stresses cause satellites to break apart during this process. DLR has analysed the re-entry and destruction of ROSAT. Based on the latest studies, it is thought possible that up to 30 individual debris items with a total mass of up to 1.6 tons might reach the surface of the Earth. The X-ray optical system, with its mirrors and a mechanical support structure made of carbon-fibre reinforced composite – or at least a part of it – could be the heaviest single component to reach the ground. In the event of fragments reaching the surface of Earth, they could be travelling at speeds of up to 450 kilometres per hour.

  • Where exactly will ROSAT return to Earth?

    It is not possible to predict the precise time of re-entry or the exact location. Experience with other satellites shows that, six months before re-entry, the timing of the event can only be predicted to within a 10-week period. The closer the time of re-entry approaches, the more accurately the timing can be predicted. However, even just one week in advance, the timing of re-entry can only be predicted to within a 3-day window. Given that the satellite orbits Earth once every 90 minutes, it could complete more than 40 full orbits of Earth during this three-day period. Even just one day before the spacecraft leaves orbit, the timing can only be predicted to within ±5 hours, or 6.5 orbits of Earth. Since the Earth rotates below the orbit of the satellite, the area on the Earth’s surface (referred to as the 'ground track' of the satellite) that might be affected by falling debris following re-entry changes from one orbit to the next. From this information, it is clear that no statement can be made about the precise location of re-entry or any potential ground impact. Just a few hours before the predicted re-entry time, it may be possible to specify the ground track of the orbit during which re-entry is probably going to occur. If fragments do reach the surface of the Earth, they will spread out and come down along this ground track across a swathe up to 80 kilometres wide. At this time, it will also become clear precisely which parts of the Earth’s surface are not going to be affected by re-entry debris. For example, if during this period ROSAT is not going to be overflying Central Europe, then it follows that re-entry is not going to affect that region.

  • Might Germany be affected by re-entry?

    Yes, there is a chance that Germany might be affected. The orbit of the satellite means that ROSAT overflies regions up to a maximum northerly latitude of 53 degrees. Allowing for some degree of scattering of possible fragments, this means that regions in Germany might be affected up to about 53.4 degrees, that is, up to 40 kilometres above the 53rd parallel. Specifically, this means that the northern part of Lower Saxony, Hamburg, Schleswig-Holstein and the vast majority of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern cannot be affected. It will only be possible a few days prior to re-entry to determine whether or not the calculated ground track for the re-entry of ROSAT might actually cross Germany. However, even in this unlikely event, the probability of re-entry actually taking place above Germany is very low.

  • How likely is it that people might be injured by the re-entry of this satellite?

    The likelihood of a person getting injured as a result of the re-entry is extremely low. Taking account of the projected total surface area over which damage might be caused by the fragments that – theoretically – might survive re-entry, the orbital path of the satellite and the distribution of human populations on Earth, it is possible to calculate that the probability of someone somewhere on Earth getting injured is about 1 in 2,000; that is, one person is predicted to be injured for every 2000 de-orbit events of this kind. The probability of someone in Germany being harmed is much lower: about one injury for every 700,000 de-orbit events.

  • Will it be possible to observe the re-entry from Earth?

    It is relatively unlikely that anyone will be able to observe the actual re-entry of ROSAT. Most objects from space that enter Earth's atmosphere come down over the sea or over uninhabited regions where there are no human observers and no radar stations. In all cases though, active and inactive satellites as well as other large items of space debris are monitored by an American radar space monitoring system as they orbit around Earth. The monitoring data is available to German scientists and will be used during the months leading up to the re-entry of ROSAT to track the decay of its orbit and its slow descent towards Earth’s atmosphere. As the time of re-entry draws closer, the braking effect of the atmosphere will become progressively more intense, and the orbital altitude of ROSAT will start to decay more rapidly. To calculate its orbit more precisely at this time, more radar stations will become involved, including the large Tracking And Imaging Radar (TIRA) facility at Wachtberg, near Bonn, Germany, belonging to the Fraunhofer Institute for High-Frequency Physics and Radar Techniques. In addition, re-entry will be tracked through an international cooperative effort, working together to define the re-entry time and potential debris track as precisely as possible. This involves the international partners who make up the Inter-Agency Space Debris Coordination Committee (IADC) contributing their own measurements to supplement the TIRA data. With the help of these measurements, international specialists, each with their own computer programs, will be lending their best efforts to the Germany experts working on behalf of DLR and the European Space Agency (ESA) to calculate the expected re-entry time. All of this information will be collected and evaluated in the European Satellite Operations Centre (ESOC) in Darmstadt, then forwarded to DLR.

  • Why will ROSAT not be intercepted and brought back to Earth under controlled conditions?

    The technologies for capturing satellites and de-orbiting them under controlled conditions are still at the development stage. It will be a several years, at the earliest, before the first demonstration missions can be launched with the aim of proving the technological feasibility of this kind of operation. However, even once these technologies become available, only a few objects will be selected for controlled re-entry, not the majority of satellites and upper stages of launchers.

  • Are other satellite re-entries to be expected?

    Satellite re-entries are cannot be avoided; space debris re-enters Earth's atmosphere on an almost weekly basis. Over the last few years, the total mass of this debris has amounted to about 60 to 80 tons per year. This total includes small items of debris as well as spent upper stages of launchers and satellites of every shape and size. Items of debris have been found on the ground only in very rare cases. The total mass of natural objects reaching the Earth's surface (meteorites) far exceeds that of debris from man-made objects or fragments resulting from activities in space.

  • Are preparations being made in Germany for this re-entry?

    Despite the fact that the probability of ROSAT coming down over an inhabited area – or even over Germany – is extremely low, ROSAT's orbit has been under continuous observation since the end of its mission. The responsible public-sector bodies at various levels are kept continuously informed of developments. With the participation of scientific experts, the Inter-ministerial Coordination Group of the German Federal Government and state governments determined by consensus in November 2010 that even in the most unlikely expected event, debris impact in Germany, the available emergency personnel, contingency plans and other means at Germany’s disposal will be able to cope.

Last modified:
21/10/2011 13:49:03

Contacts

 

Sabine Göge
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Head, DLR Corporate Communications Department

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2133

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Andreas Schütz
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Spokesman

Tel.: +49 171 3126-466

Die Rosat-Mission: Fragen und Antworten

  • Künstlerische Darstellung des Rosat%2dSatelliten im All Künstlerische Darstellung des Rosat%2dSatelliten im All

    Künstlerische Darstellung des Rosat-Satelliten im All

    Künstlerische Darstellung des Satelliten Rosat in der Erdumlaufbahn. Rosat diente der Erforschung von Röntgenquellen.

  • Beispielhafte Darstellung der Position von Rosat Beispielhafte Darstellung der Position von Rosat

    Beispielhafte Darstellung von drei aufeinander folgenden Orbits von Rosat

    Beispielhafte Darstellung von drei aufeinander folgenden Umläufen des Rosat-Satelliten um die Erde. Die Orbits dauern jeweils etwa 90 Minuten an. Man erkennt, wie sich die Bahn von Orbit zu Orbit über der Erdoberfläche verschiebt. Unser Bild zeigt Rosat am 12. April 2011.

  • Rosat%2dAufnahme des gesamten Himmels im Röntgenlicht Rosat%2dAufnahme des gesamten Himmels im Röntgenlicht

    Rosat-Aufnahme des gesamten Himmels im Röntgenlicht

    Die Aufnahme zeigt den gesamten Himmel im Röntgenlicht, wie Rosatt ihn in der Himmelsdurchmusterung in den Jahren 1990 und 1991 gemessen hat. In dieser Projektion befindet sich auf Höhe des "Äquators" unsere Milchstraße, auf der unter anderem Supernova-Überreste (zum Beispiel im Sternbild Vela in der rechten Bildhälfte) und Röntgen-Doppelsterne zu sehen sind. Die verschiedenen Farben geben die unterschiedlich starke Energie der Röntgenstrahlung wieder.

  • Rosat startete am 1. Juni 1990 an Bord einer Delta%2dII%2dRakete von Cape Canaveral Rosat startete am 1. Juni 1990 an Bord einer Delta%2dII%2dRakete von Cape Canaveral

    Rosat startete am 1. Juni 1990 an Bord einer Delta-II-Rakete von Cape Canaveral

    Der Röntgensatellit Rosat bei seinem Start auf einer Delta II-Rakete der US-amerikanischen Weltraumbehörde NASA vom Weltraumbahnhof Cape Canaveral in Florida am 1. Juni 1990. Ursprünglich war geplant, Rosat mit einem US-Space Shuttle in die Erdumlaufbahn zu bringen. Nach der Explosion der Challenger-Raumfähre 1986 (Rosat war damals bereits im Bau) wurde die Entscheidung getroffen, den Röntgensatelliten mit einer Rakete in den Orbit zu bringen.

loading
 

Seit seinem Start am 1. Juni 1990 verlor der Röntgensatellit Rosat durch den Luftwiderstand der Hochatmosphäre kontinuierlich an Höhe. Beim voraussichtlichen Wiedereintritt des Raumfahrzeugs in die Atmosphäre im Oktober 2011 wird der Satellit in Trümmerstücke zerbrechen und zum Teil durch die extreme Hitze verglühen. Der folgende Katalog gibt Antworten auf die häufigsten Fragen zur Rosat-Mission und zum Wiedereintritt.  

  • Warum wurde Rosat aufgegeben?

    Die Rosat-Mission war für eine Dauer von 18 Monaten konzipiert, wurde aber auf­grund des großen wissenschaftlichen Erfolgs und der technischen Machbarkeit solange wie möglich verlängert. Altersbedingte Einschränkungen beim Rosat-Betrieb konnten lange Zeit ausgeglichen werden. So war z. B. 1993 nach dem Ausfall von Kreiseln, die die Lage des Satelliten im Raum steuern, ein neuartiges Regelungssystem implementiert worden. Dieses verwendete die Richtung zur Sonne und die Stärke des Erdmagnetfelds zur Lagebestimmung. 1994 war der für die Messungen notwendige Gasvorrat des so genannten Vieldrahtproportionalzählers (Position Sensitive Proportional Counter, PSPC) erschöpft, die Beobachtungen wurden danach ausschließlich mit dem hochauflösenden Bilddetektor (High Resolution Imager, HRI), der keine Verbrauchsmaterialien benötigt, weitergeführt. 1998 kam dann das Ende der Mission: Der Ausfall eines Sternsensors führte dazu, dass der verbliebene HRI-Detektor in Sonnenrichtung schaute und dabei irreversibel beschädigt wurde. Nachdem keine wissenschaftliche Verwendung des Satelliten mehr möglich war, wurde er am 12. Februar 1999, mehr als achteinhalb Jahre nach dem Start, endgültig abge­schaltet. 

  • Was waren die wissenschaftlichen Aufgaben von Rosat?

    Röntgenstrahlen entstehen bei besonders heißen und energiereichen Prozessen im Universum. Dabei sind oft auch extreme Materiezustände wie Schwarze Löcher oder Neutronensterne beteiligt. Um diese Prozesse zu verstehen, muss man die Herkunft und die spektrale Zusammensetzung bzw. die Energieverteilung der Röntgenstrahlung bestimmen. Da die Erdatmosphäre Röntgenstrahlung absorbiert und eine Beobachtung von der Erde aus daher nicht möglich ist, wurde das mit dem Röntgenteleskop auf Rosat gemacht. Dabei stellte man fest, dass fast alle astronomischen Objekte Röntgenstrahlung aussenden, auch einige, von denen man es vorher nicht erwartet hätte. Zu den beobachteten Objekten zählen denn auch der Mond, Kometen, Sterne, Röntgendoppelsterne, Neutronensterne, Supernovae und Supernova-Überreste, das interstellare Medium, Galaxien, aktive Kerne von Galaxien, Schwarze Löcher, Galaxienhaufen und der Röntgenhintergrund. Die Ergebnisse sind in zahlreichen Veröffentlichungen dokumentiert. Beobachtungen bei anderen Wellenlängen (sichtbares Licht, Radio-, Infrarot- und Gammastrahlung) ergänzen die Informationen über diese astroastronomischen Objekte.

  • Was sind die wichtigsten wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse der Rosat-Mission?

    Mit über acht Jahren Lebensdauer und zahlreichen exzellenten wissenschaftlichen Beobachtungen hatte Rosat die in ihn gesetzten Erwartungen weit übertroffen. Die Vielzahl der Beobachtungsobjekte kann hier nur stichwortartig angedeutet werden: die erste Durchmusterung des gesamten Himmels mit einem abbildenden Röntgenteleskop, die Auflösung des kosmischen Röntgenhintergrundes in einzelne Quellen, die Beobachtung und Analyse des heißen Gases, das das Gravitationspotenzial von Galaxienhaufen ausfüllt, die Beobachtung von Supernovaüberresten, die Entdeckung der "Supersoft Sources" in der Großen Magellanschen Wolke, und schließlich die überraschende Entdeckung, dass auch Kometen Röntgenstrahlung emittieren. Der 2001 überarbeitete Katalog von pointierten PSPC-Beobachtungen enthält Positionen und Zählraten von mehr als 100.000 Röntgenquellen.

  • Wie funktionierte das Röntgenteleskop auf Rosat?

    Eine Optik für Röntgenteleskope hat ein völlig anderes Aussehen als man es von optischen Teleskopen kennt. Eine gewöhnliche Linse oder ein Spiegel würden die Röntgenstrahlung einfach absorbieren. Röntgenstrahlung wird nur dann reflektiert, wenn sie unter einem sehr flachen Winkel auf eine hochpolierte Oberfläche trifft. Auf diesen Erkenntnissen aufbauend hatte der Kieler Physiker Hans Wolter 1951 eine röhrenförmige Röntgenoptik entwickelt, bei der die Röntgenstrahlung durch streifende Reflexion fokussiert wird ("Wolter-Spiegel"). Da so nur die Strahlung aus einem schmalen ringförmigen Bereich zur effektiven Fläche beiträgt, wurden bei Rosat vier unterschiedlich große Wolter-Spiegel konzentrisch ineinander gesetzt. Im Brennpunkt, 2,4 Meter hinter den Spiegeln, sind auf einem Karussell drei Detektoren angeordnet, die wechselweise in den Strahlengang gefahren werden konnten. Dies sind zwei baugleiche Vieldrahtproportionalzähler (Position Sensitive Proportional Coun-ter, PSPC) und ein Kanalplattendetektor (High Resolution Imager, HRI). Beide Typen ergänzten sich in ihren Aufgaben. Der am Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik in Garching entwickelte PSPC hatte ein großes Gesichtsfeld, eine Energieauflösung, die die Unterscheidung von vier "Farben" ermöglichte, eine höhere Empfindlichkeit, aber eine geringere Ortsauflösung. Der von der NASA zur Verfügung gestellte HRI wurde vom Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory entwickelt. Der HRI zeichnete sich durch eine hohe Ortsauflösung aus, hatte aber ein kleineres Gesichtsfeld als der PSPC und keine Energieauflösung. Der PSPC machte also Röntgen-"Farbbilder", während der HRI schärfere Schwarzweiß-Aufnahmen lieferte.

  • Welchen konkreten Nutzen haben die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse, die mit Rosat gewonnen wurden?

    Die wissenschaftliche Zielsetzung von Rosat gehört in den Bereich der Grundlagenforschung, d.h. sie ist nicht auf eine unmittelbare praktische Nutzung ausgerichtet. Sie trägt vielmehr dazu bei, den Ursprung, Aufbau und die Entwicklung unseres Universums besser zu verstehen. Langfristig kann die Grundlagenforschung signifikante wirtschaftliche Auswirkungen haben. Unsere Wirtschaftskraft in Deutschland beruht heute zu einem großen Teil auf Entwicklungen aus der Quantenphysik (z.B. Laser) und der Gravitationstheorie (z.B. bei Navigationsgeräten), was bei der Entstehung dieser Disziplinen Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts nicht annähernd absehbar war. Zudem wird das Geld für solche Raumfahrtmissionen auf der Erde ausgegeben. Es schafft qualifizierte Arbeitsplätze, dient der Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und es fördert die Entwicklung neuer Technologien und Methoden, weil sich solche Projekte immer an der Grenze des derzeit technisch Machbaren bewegen.

  • Wird der Wiedereintritt von Rosat gesteuert?

    Rosat hatte kein Triebwerk an Bord, mit dem man seine Umlaufbahn hätte ändern oder ihn gezielt zum Absturz bringen können. Der Wiedereintritt von Rosat kann somit nicht gesteuert werden. Auch besteht seit seinem Missionsende im Jahr 1999 keine Verbindung mehr zum Kontrollzentrum des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen.  Nach über acht Jahren Betrieb waren viele Satellitenkomponenten weit über ihre geplante Belastbarkeit beansprucht worden. Neben dem bereits angesprochenen Ausfall der Röntgendetektoren und des Kreiselsystems zur Lagebestimmung funktionierten auch viele weitere Komponenten, z. B. die Batterien für die Stromversorgung des Satelliten, aufgrund ihres Alters nur noch eingeschränkt oder gar nicht mehr. Eine Kontaktaufnahme war daher nicht mehr möglich

  • Wird Rosat beim Wiedereintritt in der Erdatmosphäre verglühen?

    Raumfahrzeuge und Weltraummüll tauchen mit über 27.500 km/h aus der Umlaufbahn in die Erdatmosphäre ein. In weniger als 10 Minuten werden sie dann auf Unterschallgeschwindigkeit abgebremst. Dabei entsteht durch den Luftwiderstand der Atmosphäre sehr große Hitze. Ohne spezielle Vorrichtungen, zum Beispiel Hitzeschilde, wie sie das amerikanische Space Shuttle besitzt, verglühen die Objekte teilweise oder vollständig. Satelliten zerbrechen dabei zumeist in mehrere Fragmente.Das DLR hat den Wiedereintritt und die Zerstörung von Rosat analysieren lassen. Neuesten Untersuchungen zufolge muss damit gerechnet werden, dass etwa 30 einzelne Fragmente mit einer Gesamtmasse von bis zu 1,6 Tonnen die Erdoberfläche erreichen können. Die Röntgenoptik mit den Spiegeln und einer mechanischen Struktur aus einem kohlenstofffaserverstärkten Kunststoff oder ein Bruchstück davon könnte das schwerste Fragment ausmachen. Sollten Bruchstücke die Erdoberfläche erreichen, könnten diese mit einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 450 km/h auftreffen.

  • Wo genau wird Rosat zur Erde zurückkehren?

    Der genaue Zeitpunkt des Wiedereintritts und damit auch der genaue Ort lässt sich nicht vorhersagen. Die Erfahrung mit anderen Satelliten zeigt, dass sich der Wiedereintritt ein halbes Jahr vorher nur auf eine Zeitspanne von 10 Wochen eingrenzen lässt. Je näher der Zeitpunkt des Wiedereintritts rückt, umso genauer werden die Prognosen. Aber selbst eine Woche vorher kann man den Wiedereintritt nur auf einen Zeitraum von etwa drei Tagen einschränken. Bei einer Umlaufzeit von 90 Minuten kann der Satellit in diesen drei Tagen die Erde immer noch über 40 Mal umrunden. Selbst einen Tag vor dem Absturz beträgt die Unsicherheit noch fast plus/minus fünf Stunden, also 6,5 Erdumläufe. Weil die Erde unter der Satellitenbahn rotiert, verschieben sich die Bereiche auf der Erdoberfläche, die von den nach dem Wiedereintritt herabfallenden Satellitenfragmenten getroffen werden können, von Umlauf zu Umlauf (Das ist die sogenannte Bodenspur des Satelliten). Aus diesen Angaben wird deutlich, dass keine Aussagen über den genauen Ort des Wiedereintritts oder des Auftreffens auf die Erdoberfläche getroffen werden können. Wenige Stunden vor dem berechneten Zeitpunkt kann man immerhin die Bodenspur des Orbits angeben, über der der Wiedereintritt wahrscheinlich stattfinden wird. Wenn Fragmente die Erdoberfläche erreichen, werden sie irgendwo entlang dieser Bodenspur auf einer Breite von bis zu 80 Kilometern verteilt niedergehen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt ist dann aber auch klar, über welchen Teilen der Erde der Wiedereintritt nicht mehr geschehen kann. Überfliegt Rosat in dem berechneten Zeitraum z.B. Mitteleuropa nicht mehr, kann der Wiedereintritt dort auch nicht stattfinden.

  • Kann Deutschland von dem Wiedereintritt betroffen sein?

    Auch Deutschland kann von dem Wiedereintritt betroffen sein. Der Bahnverlauf des Satelliten führt dazu, dass Rosat über Gebiete bis maximal 53° nördlicher Breite fliegt. Berücksichtigt man eine gewisse Streuung der möglichen Fragmente, so könnten auch Gebiete bis etwa 53,4° nördlicher geographischer Breite in Deutschland betroffen sein, das wären 40 Kilometer über den 53. Breitengrad hinaus. Konkret bedeutet dies, dass das nördliche Niedersachsen, Hamburg, Schleswig-Holstein und der überwiegende Teil von Mecklenburg-Vorpommern vom Absturz keinesfalls betroffen sein können. Erst wenige Tage vor dem Wiedereintritt wird man eingrenzen können, ob die berechnete Bodenspur für den Wiedereintritt von Rosat genau so liegt, dass sie auch über Deutschland führt. Allerdings bleibt auch in diesem Fall die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass der Wiedereintritt tatsächlich über Deutschland stattfindet, sehr gering.

  • Wie wahrscheinlich ist es, dass Menschen durch den Absturz des Satelliten direkt geschädigt werden?

    Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass eine Person durch den Wiedereintritt des Satelliten zu Schaden kommt, ist äußerst gering. Berücksichtigt man die voraussichtliche Gesamtschadensfläche, die sich aus den Fragmenten, die möglicherweise den Wiedereintritt überstehen, dem Bahnverlauf des Satelliten und der Verteilung der Bevölkerung auf der Erdoberfläche errechnen lässt, so liegt die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass irgendwo auf der Welt ein Mensch geschädigt wird, bei etwa 1 zu 2.000. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit für einen einzelnen der etwa 7 Milliarden Menschen, geschädigt zu werden, ist dementsprechend viel geringer. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass irgendein Mensch in Deutschland geschädigt wird, liegt bei 1 zu 700.000.

  • Wird der Satellit während des Wiedereintritts von der Erde aus beobachtet?

    Es ist eher unwahrscheinlich, dass man den tatsächlichen Wiedereintritt von Rosat direkt beobachten kann. Die meisten Objekte aus dem Weltraum, die in die Erdatmosphäre eintreten, gehen über dem Meer oder auf unbewohntem Gebiet nieder, wo es keine Beobachter und auch keine Radarstationen gibt. Grundsätzlich werden aktive und inaktive Satelliten und andere größere Weltraumrückstände auf ihrer Bahn um die Erde durch ein radargestütztes amerikanisches Weltraum-Überwachungssystem beobachtet. Diese Daten stehen deutschen Wissenschaftlern zur Verfügung und werden auch genutzt, um den langsamen Abstieg von Rosat in den Monaten vor dem Wiedereintritt zu verfolgen. Rückt der Zeitpunkt des Wiedereintritts näher, wird der bremsende Einfluss der Atmosphäre immer stärker und die Bahnhöhe von Rosat verringert sich schneller. Zur genaueren Bahnberechnung werden dann weitere Radarstationen eingesetzt, darunter die Großradaranlage TIRA des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Hochfrequenzphysik und Radartechnik in Wachtberg bei Bonn. Zusätzlich wird der Wiedereintritt in internationaler Kooperation verfolgt und Absturzzeitpunkt und -ort möglichst genau eingegrenzt. Hierzu stellen internationale Partner, die im "Inter-Agency Space Debris Coordination Committee" (IADC) zusammengeschlossen sind, ihre Messungen zusätzlich zu den TIRA-Daten bereit. Mithilfe aller gesammelten Messwerte berechnen dann neben den deutschen Experten, die im Auftrag des DLR und bei der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA arbeiten, auch internationale Fachleute mit ihren jeweiligen Computerprogrammen den erwarteten Wiedereintrittszeitpunkt. All diese Informationen werden zentral im Europäischen Satelliten-Kontrollzentrum (ESOC) in Darmstadt gesammelt, ausgewertet und an das DLR weitergeleitet.

  • Warum wird Rosat nicht eingefangen und gezielt zum Absturz gebracht?

    Technologien, um einzelne Satelliten einzufangen und kontrolliert zum Absturz zu bringen, befinden sich noch in der Entwicklung. Frühestens in einigen Jahren ist mit ersten Demonstrations-Missionen zu rechnen, die zeigen sollen, dass ein solches Vorgehen grundsätzlich technisch machbar ist. Aber selbst wenn diese Technologien zur Verfügung stehen werden, so wird man damit höchstens wenige Objekte gezielt wieder eintreten lassen können, nicht aber die große Mehrzahl der Satelliten und Raketenoberstufen.

  • Ist mit weiteren Satellitenabstürzen zu rechnen?

    Wiedereintritte von Satelliten lassen sich auch heute nicht vermeiden. Es treten praktisch wöchentlich Weltraumtrümmer in die Erdatmosphäre ein. In den letzten Jahren betrug die Gesamtmasse dieser Trümmer etwa 60 bis 80 Tonnen pro Jahr. Darunter sind kleinere Trümmerteile genauso wie ausgediente Raketenoberstufen und Satelliten verschiedenster Größe. In den seltensten Fällen werden Trümmerstücke gefunden. Verglichen damit ist die Gesamtmasse der jährlich auf die Erde eintreffenden natürlichen Objekte (Meteoriten) wesentlich größer als die Masse der künstlich aus Weltraumaktivitäten resultierenden Objekte oder Fragmente.

  • Werden in Deutschland Vorbereitungen für den Wiedereintritt getroffen?

    Obwohl die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass Rosat über bewohntem Gebiet - oder gar Deutschland - niedergeht, gering ist, wird die Rosat-Flugbahn seit dem Ende der Mission ständig beobachtet. Die zuständigen Verwaltungsstellen auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen werden hierüber laufend informiert. Unter Beteiligung von wissenschaftlichen Experten hat die Interministerielle Koordinierungsgruppe des Bundes und der Länder im November 2010 einvernehmlich festgestellt, dass alle, auch die im unwahrscheinlichsten Fall zu erwartenden, Auswirkungen mit den in Deutschland vorhandenen Einsatzkräften, -plänen und -mitteln bewältigt werden können.

Zuletzt geändert am:
21.10.2011 13:48:37 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Sabine Göge
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Leiterin DLR-Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2133

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Pressesprecher

Tel.: +49 171 3126-466