TerraSAR-X
Earth Observation
theme

TerraSAR-X - Germany's radar eye in space

TerraSAR-X
  • Der deutsche Radarsatellit TerraSAR%2dX Der deutsche Radarsatellit TerraSAR%2dX

    German radar satellite TerraSAR-X

    The German radar satellite TerraSAR-X will orbit the Earth in a polar orbit at a height of 514 kilometres; using the mission's newly designed active antenna, it will gather high-quality X-band radar data from the entire planet. TerraSAR-X will operate independent of weather conditions, cloud coverage or lighting and will supply radar data at a resolution of up to 1 metre.

loading
 

TerraSAR-X is a German Earth-observation satellite. Its primary payload is an X-band radar sensor with a range of different modes of operation, allowing it to record images with different swath widths, resolutions and polarisations. TerraSAR-X thus offers space-based observation capabilities that were previously unavailable. The objective of the mission is to provide value-added SAR (Synthetic Aperture Radar) data in the X-band, for research and development purposes as well as scientific and commercial applications.

The successful launch of TerraSAR-X on 15 June 2007 at 08:14 local time from the Russian Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan marked the start of a campaign to map the Earth at an unprecedented level of accuracy. The aim is to create new, high-quality radar images of the Earth’s surface over the next five years.

Night and overcast conditions are no problem for TerraSAR-X

The satellite is in a near-polar orbit around the Earth, at an altitude of 514 kilometres. Using its active radar antenna, it is able to produce image data with a resolution of down to one metre, regardless of weather conditions, cloud cover or absence of daylight. TerraSAR-X has been fully operational since 7 January 2008. Every part of this satellite was built in a very compact way. It has a five-metre-long body with a hexagonal cross section and its primary payload is an active radar system. The radar beam can be electronically tilted within a range of 20 to 60 degrees perpendicular to the flight direction, without having to move the satellite itself. This has an obvious advantage: it allows the radar to zoom in on many more ground targets from the satellite’s orbit than would be possible using a 'non-steerable' radar.

TerraSAR-X is being implemented on behalf of DLR German Aerospace Center with funds from the German Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie). It is the first German satellite manufactured under a so-called Public-Private Partnership (PPP) between DLR and Airbus Defence and Space. DLR is responsible for using TerraSAR-X data for scientific purposes; it is also responsible for planning and implementing the mission as well as controlling the satellite (Registered users can search online through all the available data in DLR's EOWEB catalogue (see the link in the right-hand column). If they submit their project proposals to DLR, scientists can receive TerraSAR-X data). Airbus Defence and Space built the satellite, shared the costs of developing it and is sharing the costs of operating it.The programme line "Geo-Intelligence", part of the "Communication, Intelligence & security" business line of Airbus Defence & Space, is responsible for marketing the data commercially.

Germany - world leader in Earth observation

TerraSAR-X builds on the technology and insight gained in earlier radar missions, and allows systematic observations to be conducted over a longer period of time. Observing vegetation, for instance, is exceptionally relevant for human life. Accurate and up-to-date information about the distribution and composition of, and changes in, types of vegetation forms the basis for many applications. One of the things that makes TerraSAR-X stand out is its high spatial resolution, surpassing what was previously possible using civilian radar systems. This enables scientists to examine detailed ground features, for instance the differentiation between different crops, in order to arrive at an improved classification of ground use.

TerraSAR-X at a glance:

 
Length: 4.88 metres
Diameter: 2.4 metres
Launch mass: 1230 kilograms
Payload mass: about 400 kilograms
Radar frequency: 9.65 Gigahertz
Power consumption: 800 watt (on average)
Resolution: 1 metre, 3 metres, or 16 metres
(depending on the image size)
Launch vehicle: Dnepr 1 (converted SS-18)
Launch date: 15 June 2007, 4:14 CEST
Launch site: Baikonur, Kazakhstan
Orbital altitude: 514 kilometres
Angle of inclination with respect to the equator: 97.4 degrees (Sun synchronous)
Mission life time: at least 5 years

The DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute (DLR-Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme), the DLR Remote Sensing Technology Institute (DLR-Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung) and the German Remote Sensing Data Center (Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum; DFD) of DLR cooperate closely in the 'SAR Center of Excellence'. The partner institutions complement each other by covering all relevant fields, from sensor technology and mission design to high-precision operational processing and value-added end-user products. Together with DLR's German Space Operations Center (Deutsches Raumfahrt-Kontrollzentrum), these institutes are also responsible for building the TerraSAR-X ground segment as well as operating the satellite over a period of five years.

Last modified:
21/03/2014 13:22:40

Contacts

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Stefan Buckreuß
DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2344

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449

TerraSAR-X
Erdbeobachtung
theme

TerraSAR-X - Deutschlands Radar-Auge im All

TerraSAR-X
Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Der deutsche Radarsatellit TerraSAR%2dX

    Der deutsche Radarsatellit TerraSAR-X

    Der deutsche Radarsatellit TerraSAR-X umrundet die Erde in einer Höhe von 514 Kilometern auf einer polaren Umlaufbahn. Mit seiner aktiven Antenne nimmt er neuartige und hochwertige X-Band-Radardaten von der gesamten Erde auf. TerraSAR-X arbeitet unabhängig von Wetterbedingungen, Wolkenbedeckung und Tageslicht und ist in der Lage, Radardaten mit einer Auflösung von bis zu einem Meter zu liefern.

TerraSAR-X ist ein deutscher Erdbeobachtungssatellit. Als Nutzlast trägt er einen Radarsensor, der in verschiedenen Modi betrieben wird, um Aufnahmen mit unterschiedlichen Streifenbreiten, Auflösungen und Polarisationen zu ermöglichen. TerraSAR-X bietet dadurch Beobachtungsmöglichkeiten, die bisher aus dem All nicht verfügbar waren. Die Ziele der Mission sind die Bereitstellung von hochwertigen SAR-(Synthetic-Aperture-Radar-)Daten im X-Band für Forschung und Entwicklung sowie für wissenschaftliche und kommerzielle Anwendungen.

Mit dem erfolgreichen Start von TerraSAR-X am 15. Juni 2007 um 8.14 Uhr Ortszeit vom russischen Kosmodrom Baikonur (Kasachstan) hat die Kartierung der Erde in einer neuen Qualität begonnen. Während der folgenden fünf Jahre sollen neue und hochwertige Radarbilder der Erdoberfläche erstellt werden.

Auch bei Nacht und durch Wolken

Der Satellit umrundet die Erde in einer Höhe von 514 Kilometern auf einer polaren Umlaufbahn. Mit seiner aktiven Antenne liefert er unabhängig von Wetterbedingungen, Wolkenbedeckung und Tageslicht Radardaten mit einer Auflösung von bis zu einem Meter. TerraSAR-X hat am 7. Januar 2008 den operationellen Betrieb aufgenommen. Der gesamte Satellit ist sehr kompakt gebaut. Der fünf Meter lange Körper besitzt einen sechseckigen Querschnitt, seine primäre Nutzlast ist ein aktives Radar. Es ermöglicht, den Strahl senkrecht zur Flugrichtung in einem Schwenkbereich zwischen 20 und 60 Grad elektrisch zu verstellen, ohne den Satelliten selbst bewegen zu müssen. Der Vorteil liegt auf der Hand: Es lassen sich aus der Flugbahn wesentlich mehr Ziele anpeilen als bei einem "festen" Radar.

TerraSAR-X wird im Auftrag des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie realisiert. Es ist der erste deutsche Satellit, der im Rahmen eines so genannten Public Private Partnerships (PPP) zwischen DLR und Airbus Defence and Space (vormals Astrium) realisiert wird: Die Nutzung von TerraSAR-X-Daten für wissenschaftliche Zwecke liegt in der Zuständigkeit des DLR, das auch die Konzeption und Durchführung der Mission sowie die Satellitensteuerung übernimmt (alle verfügbaren Daten können registrierte Nutzer im DLR-Katalog EOWEB online - s. Link in der rechten Spalte - suchen; Wissenschaftler können Projektvorschläge beim DLR einreichen und erhalten Daten zu Kopierkosten). Airbus Defence and Space beteiligt sich an den Kosten für Entwicklung, Bau und Einsatz des Satelliten. Die Programmlinie "Geo-Intelligence", übernimmt die kommerzielle Vermarktung der Daten.

Deutsche Spitzenposition in der Erdbeobachtung

Mit TerraSAR-X werden aus früheren Radar-Missionen gewonnene Techniken und Erkenntnisse ausgebaut und systematische Langzeitbeobachtungen vorgenommen. So ist etwa die Beobachtung der Vegetation von herausragender Bedeutung für menschliches Leben. Präzise und aktuelle Information über die Verteilung, Zusammensetzung und Änderung von Vegetationsarten ist die Basis für viele Anwendungen. Eines der herausragenden Merkmale von TerraSAR-X ist die hohe räumliche Auflösung, die bisher bei keinem zivilen Radarsystem erreicht wurde. Diese ermöglicht es den Wissenschaftlern, detaillierte Bodenmerkmale, zum Beispiel die Unterscheidung verschiedener Feldfrüchte, für eine bessere Klassifizierung einzubeziehen.

TerraSAR-X auf einen Blick:  
Größe: 4,88 Meter
Durchmesser: 2,4 Meter
Gewicht beim Start: 1.230 Kilogramm
davon Nutzlast: ca. 400 Kilogramm
Radarfrequenz: 9,65 Gigahertz
Energieverbrauch: 800 Watt (gemittelt)
Auflösung: 1 Meter, 3 Meter, 16 Meter (abhängig von der Bildgröße)
Trägerrakete: Dnepr 1 (ehemals SS-18)
Start: 15. Juni 2007, 4:14 Uhr MESZ
Startplatz: Baikonur, Kasachstan
Höhe der Umlaufbahn: 514 Kilometer
Neigungswinkel gegen Äquator: 97,4 Grad (sonnensynchron)
Lebensdauer: mindestens 5 Jahre

Das DLR-Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme sowie das DLR-Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung und die DLR-Einrichtung Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum bilden gemeinsam das "SAR-Center of Excellence". Die beteiligten Institute ergänzen sich durch eine Abdeckung aller Bereiche: von der Sensortechnik und Missionsauslegung über die hochgenaue operationelle Prozessierung bis hin zu den veredelten Nutzerprodukten. So sind diese Institute zusammen mit dem Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum des DLR bei TerraSAR-X auch zuständig für den Aufbau des Bodensegmentes sowie den fünfjährigen Satellitenbetrieb.

Zuletzt geändert am:
21.03.2014 13:21:16 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Stefan Buckreuß
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2344

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449