German Astronauts
Earth's outpost in space
International Space Station ISS
theme

Gerhard Thiele

  • Gerhard Thiele Gerhard Thiele

    Gerhard Thiele

    Gerhard Thiele commenced astronaut basic training in 1988 at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and was assigned to the D2 Spacelab mission two years later. He served as backup payload specialist for this 1993 mission from the DLR Control Center at Oberpfaffenhofen. In 1995 he was appointed Director of the DLR Crew Training Center (CTC).

    Thiele travelled into space for the first time on 11 February 2000: Shuttle mission STS-99 had the task of gathering radar data for the first three-dimensional digital atlas of the Earth's surface; it was also known as the Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM). Mapping commenced less than 12 hours after launch.

  • Gerhard Thiele bei der Mission STS%2d99 im Jahr 2000 Gerhard Thiele bei der Mission STS%2d99 im Jahr 2000

    Gerhard Thiele during the STS-99 mission in 2000

    Gerhard Thiele photographed Earth during the STS-99 mission in 2000.

    Gerhard Thiele was selected to Germany's astronaut team in 1987. He has belonged to ESA's European Astronaut Corps since 1998. Thiele flew as a mission specialist between 11 and 22 February 2000, on the Space Shuttle mission STS-99. This mission, also known as the Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM), gathered data for the first three-dimensional digital atlas of Earth's surface.

loading
 

Gerhard Thiele was born on 2 September 1953 in Heidenheim-Brenz, near Ulm. On completion of secondary school in 1972, Thiele joined the Navy for four years before studying physics at Munich and Heidelberg. He concluded his undergraduate studies in 1982 and earned his doctorate three years later at the Heidelberg Institute of Environmental Physics. In 1986 he moved to Princeton University, where he researched ocean circulation and its influence on the development of climate.

In 1988 Thiele commenced basic astronaut training at DLR and was assigned to the D2 Spacelab mission two years later. He served as backup payload specialist for the 1993 mission from the DLR Control Center at Oberpfaffenhofen. In 1995 he became Director of the DLR Crew Training Center (CTC).

Thiele was selected a year later by the former German Aerospace Agency (Deutschen Agentur für Raumfahrtangelegenheiten; DARA) and DLR to be trained by NASA as a mission specialist. After two years of training at the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas, he joined the European Astronaut Corps (EAC) of the European Space Agency (ESA) in 1998.

Thiele travelled into space for the first time on 11 February 2000: He was a crewmember of Space Shuttle mission STS-99, with objective to collate data for the first three-dimensional digital atlas of the Earth's surface; it was also known as the Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM). Mapping commenced less than 12 hours after launch. As in previous missions, the six-person crew performed in a dual-shift system, enabling round-the-clock operations. Thiele was responsible for operating the antennas; these were attached to the upper portion of an approximately 60-metre long mast. After 11 days in orbit, the mission concluded successfully on 22 February 2000.

After his flight, Thiele worked as a 'CapCom' (Capsule Communicator) for NASA. A CapCom acts as the communicator between ground control and the astronauts in space. He was the first European astronaut to serve in this capacity. He returned to Germany in 2001 to head ESA's European Astronaut Centre.

In January 2003 Thiele was given the task of replacing André Kuipers on the Soyuz 8S mission. He trained at the renowned Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Centre at Swjosdny Gorodok (Star City) near Moscow. Thiele returned to the EAC in 2004 and became leader of the European astronaut team in 2005.

Last modified:
23/06/2011 16:20:01

Deutsche Astronauten
"Außenposten" im All
Internationale Raumstation ISS
theme

Gerhard Thiele

Gerhard Thiele
Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Gerhard Thiele

    Gerhard Thiele

    1988 begann Gerhard Thiele das Basistraining für Astronauten am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und wurde zwei Jahre später für die D2-Spacelab-Mission berufen. Als Backup-Nutzlastspezialist betreute er die Mission 1993 vom Kontrollzentrum des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen. 1995 wurde er Direktor des Crew Training Centers (CTC) des DLR. Am 11. Februar 2000 startete Thiele zum ersten Mal ins All: Die Mission STS-99 hatte zum Ziel, Daten für die erste dreidimensionale digitale Karte der Erdoberfläche für den gesamten Globus zu sammeln, und ist auch unter dem Namen Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM) bekannt.

  • Gerhard Thiele bei der Mission STS%2d99 im Jahr 2000

    Gerhard Thiele bei der Mission STS-99 im Jahr 2000

    Gerhard Thiele fotografiert die Erde bei der Mission STS-99 im Jahr 2000.

Gerhard Thiele wurde am 2. September 1953 in Heidenheim-Brenz bei Ulm geboren. Nach dem Abitur 1972 war Thiele vier Jahre bei der Marine, bevor er Physik in München und Heidelberg studierte. Sein Studium schloss er 1982 mit dem Diplom ab und promovierte drei Jahre später am Heidelberger Institut für Umweltphysik. 1986 zog es ihn an die Princeton University, wo er ein Jahr über die Zirkulation der Ozeane und deren Einflüsse auf die Entwicklung des Klimas forschte.

1988 begann Thiele das Basistraining für Astronauten am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und wurde zwei Jahre später für dieD2-Spacelab-Mission berufen. Als Backup-Nutzlastspezialist betreute er die Mission 1993 vom Kontrollzentrum des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen. 1995 wurde er Direktor des Crew Training Centers (CTC) des DLR.

Bereits ein Jahr später wurde Thiele von der damaligen Deutschen Agentur für Raumfahrtangelegenheiten (DARA) und dem DLR ausgewählt, als Missionsspezialist bei der NASA ausgebildet zu werden. Nach zwei Jahren Ausbildung im Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas, wurde er 1998 Mitglied des Europäischen Astronautencorps (EAC) der Europäischen Weltraumagentur (ESA).

Am 11. Februar 2000 startete Thiele zum ersten Mal ins All: Die Mission STS-99 hatte zum Ziel, Daten für die erste dreidimensionale digitale Karte der Erdoberfläche für den gesamten Globus zu sammeln, und ist auch unter dem Namen Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM) bekannt. Weniger als zwölf Stunden nach dem Start begann die Kartierung. Wie auch in anderen Missionen zuvor war die sechsköpfige Crew in einem Zwei-Schichten-System im Einsatz, damit auf der Mission rund um die Uhr gearbeitet werden konnte. Thiele war für den Betrieb der Antenne verantwortlich, die am oberen Teil eines etwa 60 Meter langen Mastes befestigt war. Nach elf Tagen im All war die Mission am 22. Februar 2000 erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

Nach seinem Flug arbeitete Thiele als so genannter CapCOM (Capsule Communicator) für die NASA. Ein CapCOM ist ein Kommunikator zwischen der Bodenstation und den Astronauten im All. Thiele war der erste europäische Astronaut, der diese Tätigkeit ausüben sollte. 2001 kehrte er wieder nach Deutschland zurück und war als Leiter des Astronautenzentrums (EAC) für die ESA tätig.

Im Januar 2003 wurde Thiele als Ersatzmann für André Kuipers im Rahmen der Sojus 8S Mission ernannt. Seine Ausbildung erfolgte im berühmten Juri-Gagarin-Ausbildungszentrum im Sternenstädtchen bei Moskau. 2004 kehrte Thiele wieder zum EAC zurück und wurde 2005 Leiter des europäischen Astronautenteams.

Zuletzt geändert am:
20.03.2014 14:25:30 Uhr