Johann-Dietrich Wörner - Chairman of the Executive Board

Curriculum vitae

Prof. Dr.%2dIng. Johann%2dDietrich Wörner (Image: DLR, CC%2dBY)
  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner (Image: DLR, CC-BY)

Johann-Dietrich Wörner was born in Kassel in 1954. He has been Chairman of the Executive Board of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) since 1 March 2007.

He studied civil engineering at the Technische Universität Berlin and the Technische Hochschule Darmstadt, from where he graduated in 1985. In 1982, as part of his studies, he spent two years in Japan, investigating earthquake safety. Until 1990 Wörner worked for the consulting civil engineers König und Heunisch. In 1990 he returned to Darmstadt University, where he was appointed to a professorship in Civil Engineering and took over as Head of the Testing and Research Institute. Before being elected President of the Technische Universität Darmstadt in 1995, he held the position of Dean of the Civil Engineering Faculty.

Wörner has been honoured with a series of prizes and awards such as the Prize of the Organisation of Friends of the Technische Universität Darmstadt for 'outstanding scientific performance'. He was also appointed to the Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and is a representative of the Technical Sciences Section of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Wörner has received honorary doctorates from the State University New York (USA), the technical universities of Bucharest (Romania) and Mongolia, the Saint Petersburg University for Economics and Finance (Russia), and École Centrale Lyon (France). He has been honoured by the German state of Hesse and the French government.

Wörner is Vice President of the Helmholtz Association; he is also a member of various national and international supervisory bodies, advisory councils and committees. He was a member of the board of École Centrale Paris and École Centrale Lyon, the Convention for Technical Sciences (acatech) and the supervisory board of Röhm GmbH, to name just a few. Furthermore, he was appointed to the energy expert group of the German Government. He continues to be a member of the advisory boards of several universities such as the Technische Universität Berlin and the IST Lisboa.

Last modified:
30/10/2013 14:39:26

Contacts

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4201

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner - Vorsitzender des Vorstands

Lebenslauf

Prof. Dr.%2dIng. Johann%2dDietrich Wörner (Bild: DLR, CC%2dBY)
  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner (Bild: DLR, CC-BY)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner wurde 1954 in Kassel geboren. Seit dem 01. März 2007 ist er Vorsitzender des Vorstandes des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).

Nach seinem Studium des Bauingenieurwesens an der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Technischen Hochschule Darmstadt, wo er im Jahr 1985 promovierte, arbeitete Wörner bis 1990 im Ingenieurbüro König und Heunisch. 1982 ging er für einen Forschungsaufenthalt zum Thema "Erdbebensicherheit" für zwei Jahre nach Japan. 1990 wurde Wörner an die Technische Hochschule Darmstadt berufen und übernahm die Leitung der Prüf- und Versuchsanstalt. Bevor Wörner 1995 zum Präsidenten der Technischen Universität Darmstadt gewählt wurde und diese in die Autonomie führte, war er Dekan des Fachbereichs Bauingenieurwesen.

Wörner wurde mit einer Reihe von Preisen und Auszeichnungen, wie z. B. dem Preis der Vereinigung von Freunden der Technischen Hochschule Darmstadt für "Hervorragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen", geehrt. Außerdem wurde er in die Berlin Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften berufen und ist Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina und des Konvents für Technikwissenschaften acatech. Des Weiteren erhielt Wörner die Ehrendoktorwürde der State University New York (USA), der Technischen Universitäten Moldawien, Bukarest (Rumänien) und Ulan Bator (Mongolei) sowie der Universität St. Petersburg für Wirtschaft und Finanzen (Russland) und der École Centrale de Lyon (Frankreich). Er ist Ritter der französischen Ehrenlegion und Träger des Hessischen Verdienstordens.

Wörner ist außerdem Mitglied in verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Aufsichtsratsgremien, Beiräten und Kuratorien. Er war Mitglied des Hochschulrates der École Centrale de Paris und der École Centrale de Lyon. Aktuell ist er Mitglied des Kuratoriums der Technischen Universität Berlin und Vorsitzender des Hochschulrates der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Frankfurt und des Beirats der Bilfinger Berger AG. Außerdem war er von der Bundesregierung in die "Projektgruppe Energiepolitisches Programm" (PEPP) berufen worden.

Zuletzt geändert am:
31.10.2013 11:19:35 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4201