Research aircraft

Eurocopter BO 105

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Die fünfsitzige Forschungsplattform Eurocopter BO 105

    The five-seater Eurocopter BO 105 research platform

    The five-seater Bölkow BO 105 helicopter has been considerably modified by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR). The Eurocopter's service portfolio is very wide-ranging and can be used for diverse research missions.

  • LASSIE%2dSystem zur genauen Geschwindigkeitsmessung

    LASSIE system for accurate speed measurement

    As the test readings of the standard instruments are too inaccurate, scientists at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) developed the LASSIE system (Low Air Speed Sensing and Indicating Equipment).

    The system is attached outside the BO 105 and supplies accurate air-speed data in the lower speed ranges during measurement campaigns.

  • IFR%2dCockpit im Eurocopter BO 105

    IFR cockpit in the Eurocopter BO 105

    IFR cockpit (Instrument Flight Rules) for flying under adverse weather conditions, the so-called Instrument Meteorological Conditions (IMC).

The five-seater Eurocopter BO 105 helicopter is based on a light, multi-purpose utility helicopter made by Messerschmitt-Bölkow Blohm GmbH (MBB), and has been significantly modified for its use as a universal research platform by the German Aerospace Center's (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) Braunschweig flight facility. The BO 105's service portfolio is very wide-ranging and is particularly suitable for use on diverse research missions. Amongst other things, it is used as a research platform for studying flight characteristics, low-noise approaches, thermal-imaging photography, pilot-assist systems and for flying with external loads.

Depending on the requirement, the BO 105 can be fitted with special equipment. This includes, for example, a nose boom for investigating inflow conditions, and with pressure sensors and strain gauges fitted on the main and tail rotor blades for measuring the forces and pressure conditions on the rotor blade.

It was the first helicopter in Germany to be equipped with a rigid rotor head and two turbines as standard. In addition, the BO 105 was the first helicopter whose rotor blades were made from glass-reinforced plastic. It is powered by two Rolls-Royce/Allison 250-C 20B engines.

Modifications

The following modifications differentiate the BO 105 helicopter from the standard BO 105:

  • On-board computer for recording flight parameters.
  • Nose boom for accurate measurement of inflow velocity and direction.
  • Instrumented main and tail rotor for measuring forces and pressure conditions on the rotor blade.
  • Hardpoints outside the cabin for payloads such as infrared cameras.
  • IFR cockpit (Instrument Flight Rules) for flying in adverse weather conditions, the so-called Instrument Meteorological Conditions (IMC), which necessitate instrument flying.
  • LASSIE system (Low Air Speed Sensing and Indicating Equipment). System for accurate measurement of air speed in the lower speed range.
  • Flight Director concept for external loads. The system prevents load oscillations that often occur when transporting external loads on the helicopter.

Mission - research focus

The BO 105's fields of application are extremely varied; for example it is used for:

  • Flight-characteristics studies
  • Camera carrier for thermal imaging photography
  • Investigation of low-noise approaches
  • Development of pilot-assist systems
  • Flights with external loads

"Flight Director" - Safe flying with external loads

Until now, pilots have normally faced a major challenge when transporting payloads, as two main problems occur when flying with external loads. Firstly, the pilot cannot see the load and secondly, the control strategy needed to reduce the swinging is unclear. If the pilot uses control inputs instinctively to try to reduce the swinging, the load movement is amplified even more in many cases. To offer pilots an aid for active damping of load oscillations and so increasing flight safety, the Flight Director concept for external loads was developed at DLR. The Flight Director is an instrument that provides the pilot with a command display for controlling the helicopter. In the application for damping load oscillations, the "Flight Director" uses an artificial horizon as a display. A command signal is superimposed on the normal input signal, resulting in optimal damping of the swinging.

Technology for improvement of flight characteristics

Using modern computer technology, DLR Flight Operations carries out research into improvement of flight characteristics. This includes calculating and measuring air flows on helicopters in flight. Using extensively modified main and tail rotor blades, DLR is able to measure the forces and pressure conditions on a rotor blade as it turns, and to record this data on the on-board computer for subsequent evaluation back on the ground.

Technical data

BO 105

Fuselage Length:

8.56 metres

Length, rotors turning:

11.86 metres

Height:

3.02 metres

Seats:

five

Weight:

2.4 tonnes max.

Payload:

640 kilograms

Engines:

two Rolls-Royce/Allison 250-C 20B, each rated at 313 kW

Flight altitude:

up to 5 181 metres (17 000 feet) max.
Range:

500 kilometres

Speed:

262 kilometres per hour max.

Endurance:

2h30mins max.

Fuel quantity:

456 kilograms

Original use:

Use for national and state duties such as: traffic control, civil defence, rescue flights, police, armed forces

DLR flight facility:

Braunschweig

Last modified:
21/06/2011 13:09:55

Contacts

 

Stefan Seydel
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Head of Department Flight Operations, Flight Facility Braunschweig

Tel.: +49 531 295-2240

Forschungsflugzeuge

Eurocopter BO 105

Eurocopter BO 105
Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Die fünfsitzige Forschungsplattform Eurocopter BO 105

    Der Eurocopter BO 105

    Der fünfsitzige Hubschrauber Bölkow BO 105 wurde vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) deutlich modifiziert. Das Leistungsspektrum des Eurocopters ist breit gefächert und kann für vielfältige Forschungsmissionen genutzt werden.

  • LASSIE%2dSystem zur genauen Geschwindigkeitsmessung

    LASSIE-System zur genauen Geschwindigkeitsmessung

    Da die Messergebnisse der Standardinstrumente zu ungenau sind entwickelten die Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) das LASSIE-System (Low Air Speed Sensing and Indicating Equipment).

    Das System ist außerhalb der BO 105 befestigt und liefert während der Messkampagnen genaue Daten zur Fluggeschwindigkeit in unteren Bereichen.

  • IFR%2dCockpit im Eurocopter BO 105

    IFR-Cockpit im Eurocopter BO 105

    IFR-Cockpit (Instrument Flight Rules) zum Fliegen unter erschwerten Wetterbedingungen, den so genannten Instrument Meteorological Conditions (IMC).

 

Der fünfsitzige Hubschrauber Eurocopter BO 105 basiert auf einem leichten Mehrzweck-Hubschrauber der Messerschmitt-Bölkow Blohm GmbH (MBB) und wurde für seinen Einsatz als universeller Forschungsträger vom Flugbetrieb des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Braunschweig stark modifiziert. Das Leistungsspektrum des BO 105 ist breit gefächert und ist für den Einsatz bei vielfältigen Forschungsmissionen besonders geeignet. Er dient unter anderem als Forschungsplattform für Flugeigenschaftsuntersuchungen, lärmarme Anflüge, Wärmebildaufnahmen, Pilotenassistenzsysteme und das Fliegen mit Außenlasten.

Je nach Anforderung kann der BO 105 mit einer Spezialausrüstung ausgestattet werden. Dazu gehören beispielsweise ein Nasenmast zur Ermittlung der Anströmverhältnisse und mit Drucksensoren und Dehnmeßstreifen modifizierte Haupt- und Heckrotorblätter zur Messung der Kräfte und Druckverhältnisse am Rotorblatt.

Als erster Hubschrauber in Deutschland wurde er serienmäßig mit einem gelenklosen Rotorkopf und zwei Turbinen ausgestattet. Der BO 105 war darüber hinaus der erste Hubschrauber, dessen Rotorblätter aus glasfaserverstärktem Kunststoff gefertigt wurden. Angetrieben wird er durch zwei Rolls-Royce/Allison 250-C 20B Triebwerke.

Modifikationen

 

Der Hubschrauber BO 105 unterscheidet sich vom Standard Bo 105 durch folgende Modifikationen:

  • Bordrechner zum Aufzeichnen von Flugparametern
  • Nasenmast zur genauen Messung von Anströmgeschwindigkeit und -richtung 
  • Instrumentierter Haupt- und Heckrotor zur Messung der Kräfte und Druckverhältnisse am Rotorblatt 
  • Befestigungspunkte außerhalb der Kabine für Nutzlasten wie zum Beispiel Infrarotkameras  
  • IFR-Cockpit (Instrument Flight Rules) zum Fliegen bei schwierigen Wetterbedingungen, den so genannten Instrument Meteorological Conditions (IMC), die das Fliegen mit Instrumenten erfordern 
  • LASSIE-System (Low Air Speed Sensing and Indicating Equipment). System zur genauen Messung der Fluggeschwindigkeit im unterem Geschwindigkeitsbereich
  • Flight Director-Konzept für Außenlasten. Das System verhindert Lastschwingungen, die häufig beim Transport von Außenlasten am Hubschrauber entstehen.

 

Mission - Forschungsschwerpunkte

 

Mission - Forschungsschwerpunkte

 

Die Einsatzfelder des BO 105 sind vielseitig, er wird beispielsweise eingesetzt für:

  • Flugeigenschaftsuntersuchungen
  • Kameraträger für Wärmebildaufnahmen
  • Untersuchung von lärmarmen Anflügen
  • Entwicklung von Pilotenassistenzsystemen
  • Flüge mit Außenlasten

 

"Flight Director" - Sicher Fliegen mit Außenlasten  

 

Beim Transport von Nutzlasten stehen Piloten bis heute meist vor einer großen Herausforderung, da beim Fliegen mit Außenlasten im Wesentlichen zwei Probleme auftauchen: Zum einen sieht der Pilot die Last nicht, und zum anderen ist die Steuerstrategie zum Abbau des Pendelns unklar. Versucht der Pilot gefühlsmäßig, das Pendeln durch Steuereingaben abzubauen, wird in vielen Fällen die Lastbewegung noch verstärkt. Um dem Piloten ein Hilfsmittel zur aktiven Dämpfung von Lastschwingungen zu bieten und so die Flugsicherheit zu erhöhen, wurde beim DLR das Flight Director-Konzept für Außenlasten entwickelt. Der Flight Director ist ein Instrument, das dem Piloten eine Kommandoanzeige für die Steuerung des Hubschraubers liefert. Dabei nutzt der Flight Director bei der Anwendung zur Dämpfung von Lastenschwingungen als Anzeige einen künstlichen Horizont. Das normale Eingangssignal wird mit einem Kommandosignal überlagert und führt so zu einer optimalen Pendeldämpfung. 

Technologie zur Verbesserung der Flugeigenschaften

Mit moderner Computertechnik forschen die Flugbetriebe des DLR für die Verbesserung der Flugeigenschaften. Dazu gehört die Berechnung und Messung von Luftströmungen an fliegenden Hubschraubern. Mit aufwendig modifizierten Haupt- und Heckrotorblättern ist das DLR in der Lage, die Kräfte und Druckverhältnisse am sich drehenden Rotorblatt zu messen und diese Daten im Bordrechner für die spätere Auswertung am Boden aufzuzeichnen.

 

Technische Daten

BO 105

Rumpflänge: 8,56 Meter
Länge über Rotor: 11,86 Meter
Höhe: 3,02 Meter
Rotordurchmesser: 9,84 Meter
Sitzplätze: fünf
Gewicht: maximal 2,4 Tonnen
Zuladung: 640 Kilogramm
Antrieb: zwei Rolls-Royce/Allison 250-C 20B mit jeweils 313 Kilowatt Leistung
Flughöhe: maximal bis 5181 Meter (17.000 Feet)
Reichweite: 500 Kilometer
Geschwindigkeit: maximal 262 Kilometer pro Stunde
Flugdauer: maximal 2,5 Stunden
Kraftstoffmenge: 456 Kilogramm
Ursprüngliche Nutzung: Anwendung für staatliche Aufgaben wie Verkehrsüberwachung, Zivilschutz, Rettungsflüge, Polizei, Bundeswehr
DLR-Flugbetrieb:  Braunschweig 

Zuletzt geändert am:
27.09.2012 15:04:11 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Stefan Seydel
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Leiter Forschungsflugabteilung Braunschweig

Tel.: +49 531 295-2240