Energy

DESERTEC - Solar power from the desert

  • Solarturmkraftwerk in Südspanien Solarturmkraftwerk in Südspanien

    Solar tower power plant in southern Spain

    One square kilometre of desert is sufficient to supply about 100 000 households with 250 million kilowatt-hours of electricity per year. Solar-thermal power plants, which use the concentrated rays of the sun to generate electricity, can make a big contribution to future energy generation. According to current studies, more than 15% of European electricity requirements could be produced from concentrating solar power systems in 2050.

loading
 

The contribution of the German Aerospace Center

Cheap, safe and environmentally friendly electricity from concentrating solar power systems could meet about 15% of European power needs by 2050. This was confirmed by studies prepared by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) on behalf of the German Federal Environment Ministry (Bundesumweltministerium).

With its survey of the availability of renewable energy sources for electricity production in the Europe/Middle East/North Africa region, EU-MENA for short, the DLR Institute of Technical Thermodynamics (Institut für Technische Thermodynamik) has supplied the scientific foundation for the DESERTEC project.

DESERTEC will use solar-thermal power plants in Earth's sun belt to generate climate-friendly electricity for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. On 13 July 2009, twelve leading technology and finance corporations smoothed the path for the realisation of the concept with the DESERTEC Industrial Initiative (DII). The framework conditions of the project are to be analysed in detail and developed in a three-year planning phase, so that its industrial implementation can be started at the end of that period. The DLR Institute of Technical Thermodynamics will provide scientific support for the DII.

DLR provides scientific basis for DESERTEC

The DESERTEC plans are based on three satellite-data supported DLR studies, which determined the renewable-energy possibilities for the sustainable production of electricity and drinking water in 50 countries in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, taking account of the solar-thermal power plants option (concentrating solar power, CSP for short). The 'MED-CSP', 'AQUA-CSP' and 'TRANS-CSP' studies concluded that solar-thermal power plants could supply sufficient power and desalinated water to meet the growing demand of MENA countries as well as Europe, while using less than 0.3% of the MENA desert area. The MED-CSP study focuses on the sustainable supply of electricity in MENA countries while AQUA-CSP analyses the drinking water supply.

The DLR 'Trans-CSP' study

The DLR TRANS-CSP (Trans-Mediterranean Interconnection for Concentrating Solar Power) study, published in 2006, describes the transition to a sustainable supply of electricity for Europe between 2000 and 2050. It provides a comprehensive database of current and future electricity needs, peak loads and necessary assured power plant output for the individual countries covered by the study, quantifies the domestic renewable energy possibilities and their usability for electricity production and analyses the effects of such scenarios on the environment and society.

The most important results of the Trans-CSP study, in summary:

  • Balance: a balanced mix of renewable energy sources and fossil-balancing energy can supply sustainably cheap and safe electrical power for Europe. The DLR scenario begins in 2000 with the 20% renewable energy share developed at the time (including hydro-electric power) in the countries of the study and in 2050 reaches a renewable share of the electricity supply of 80%. Here, domestic renewable sources provide almost 65%; a good 15% then comes from solar power imports from North Africa.
  • Cheap: the transition to a sustainable energy mix will lead to cheaper electricity supplies within 15 years than if the current trends are maintained.
  • Stable: imported electricity from solar-thermal power stations in MENA can supply assured power for base, medium and peak loads in the European network and thus ideally supplement the domestic renewable sources, which are largely fluctuating in character.
  • Long-term: imports could start between 2020 and 2025 with 60 billion kilowatt-hours per year and be expanded by 2050 to 700 billion kilowatt-hours per year. The high and very uniform insolation (solar radiation energy received on a given surface area in a given time) in MENA and the low losses of 10 to 15% through high-voltage direct-current (HVDC) transmission lines allows for long-term imported electricity costs of about €0.05 per kilowatt hour (at constant 2000 prices).
  • Clean: carbon dioxide emissions in the electricity sector can be reduced to 25% of the year 2000 quantity by 2050.
  • Joint effort: MENA requires European help and technology to exploit renewable energy sources and to utilise the huge renewable energy potential of the region. The necessary political process must now be initiated in the form of an EU-MENA partnership and could start with a common free-trade zone for renewable energies. The establishment of the 'Union for the Mediterranean' on 13 July 2008 and the establishment of the DESERTEC Industrial Initiative on 13 July 2009 are important steps in this direction.

Outlook

The DLR Institute of Technical Thermodynamics will provide scientific support for the DESERTEC initiative over the next three years. DLR scientists will update and improve the existing studies. Suitable locations for solar-thermal power plants will be identified with the help of satellite data having high temporal and spatial resolution, cost development scenarios, and technological developments with regard to solar-thermal power plant equipment.

The DLR Institute of Technical Thermodynamics has been working for 30 years on research into and development of solar-thermal power plants. With more than 80 scientists (spread across the Stuttgart, Cologne and Almería/Spain locations), the institute is one of the world’s leading research facilities in this field.

Last modified:
11/07/2011 17:41:14

Contacts

 


German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Tel.: +49 711 6862-480

Fax: +49 711 6862-636

Energie

DESERTEC: Solarstrom aus der Wüste

DESERTEC: Solarstrom aus der Wüste
  • Solarturmkraftwerk in Südspanien Solarturmkraftwerk in Südspanien

    Solarturmkraftwerk in Südspanien

    Ein Quadratkilometer Wüste reicht aus zur Versorgung von etwa 100.000 Haushalten mit 250 Millionen Kilowattstunden Strom pro Jahr. Solarthermische Kraftwerke, bei denen gebündelte Sonnenstrahlung zur Stromerzeugung genutzt wird, können einen großen Beitrag zur zukünftigen Energieerzeugung leisten. Aktuellen Studien zufolge könnten im Jahr 2050 mehr als 15 Prozent des europäischen Strombedarfs aus konzentrierenden Solarsystemen gewonnen werden.

loading
 

Der Beitrag des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt

 

Kostengünstiger, sicherer und umweltfreundlicher Strom aus konzentrierenden Solarsystemen könnte im Jahr 2050 rund 15 Prozent des europäischen Strombedarfs decken. Das bestätigen Studien, die das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) im Auftrag des Bundesumweltministeriums erstellt hat.

Das Stuttgarter DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik liefert mit seiner Bestandsaufnahme zur Verfügbarkeit erneuerbarer Energiequellen für die Stromerzeugung im Großraum Europa-Naher Osten (Middle East)-Nordafrika, kurz EU-MENA,  das wissenschaftliche Fundament für das Projekt Desertec.

Desertec setzt auf solarthermische Kraftwerke im Sonnengürtel der Erde, um klimafreundlich Strom für Europa, den Nahen Osten und Nordafrika zu erzeugen. Mit der Desertec Industrial Initiative (DII) haben am 13. Juli 2009 zwölf führende Technologie- und Finanzkonzerne der Umsetzung des Konzepts den Weg geebnet. In einer dreijährigen Planungsphase sollen die Rahmenbedingungen des Projekts im Detail analysiert und weiterentwickelt werden, so dass danach mit der industriellen Umsetzung begonnen werden kann. Das DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik wird die DII wissenschaftlich begleiten.

DLR liefert wissenschaftliche Grundlage für DESERTEC

Die Desertec-Pläne basieren auf drei satellitendaten gestützten DLR-Studien, die die Potenziale der erneuerbaren Energien für die nachhaltige Produktion von Elektrizität und Trinkwasser in 50 Ländern Europas, Nordafrikas und des Nahen unter Berücksichtigung der Option solarthermischer Kraftwerke (Concentrating Solar Power, kurz CSP) ermitteln. Die Studien "MED-CSP", "AQUA-CSP" und "TRANS-CSP" ergaben, dass solarthermische Kraftwerke auf einem Gebiet von weniger als 0,3 Prozent der Wüstenfläche MENAs genügend Strom und entsalztes Wasser für den steigenden Bedarf dieser Länder sowie für Europa erzeugen könnten. Die Studie MED-CSP legt dabei einen Schwerpunkt auf die nachhaltige Stromversorgung in MENA,  AQUA-CSP analysiert die Versorgung mit Trinkwasser.

Die DLR-Studie "Trans-CSP"

Die im Jahr 2006 veröffentlichte DLR-Studie TRANS-CSP (Trans-Mediterranean Interconnection for Concentrating Solar Power) beschreibt den Übergang zu einer nachhaltigen Stromversorgung Europas zwischen dem Jahr 2000 und dem Jahr 2050. Sie liefert für die einzelnen untersuchten Länder eine umfassende Datenbasis über den gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Strombedarf, Spitzenlast und notwendige gesicherte Kraftwerksleistung, quantifiziert die heimischen erneuerbaren Energiepotenziale und deren Einsetzbarkeit für die Stromerzeugung und bewertet die Auswirkungen eines solchen Szenarios auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft.

Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse der Trans-CSP-Studie im Überblick:

  • Ausgewogen: Ein ausgewogener Mix erneuerbarer Energiequellen und fossiler Regelenergie kann nachhaltig kostengünstigen und sicheren elektrischen Strom für Europa liefern. Das DLR-Szenario beginnt im Jahr 2000 mit damals erschlossenen 20 Prozent erneuerbarem Energieanteil (inklusive Wasserkraft) in den untersuchten Ländern und erreicht im Jahr 2050 einen erneuerbaren Anteil von 80 Prozent der Stromversorgung. Heimische, erneuerbare Quellen nehmen dabei knapp 65 Prozent ein, gut 15 Prozent stammen dann aus Solarstromimporten aus Nordafrika.
      
  • Kostengünstig: Der Übergang zu einem nachhaltigen Energiemix wird innerhalb von 15 Jahren zu einer kostengünstigeren Stromversorgung führen als die Beibehaltung derzeitiger Trends.
      
  • Stabil: Importstrom aus solarthermischen Kraftwerken in MENA kann gesicherte Leistung für Grund-, Mittel- und Spitzenlast im europäischen Netz liefern und damit die einheimischen erneuerbaren Quellen, welche größtenteils fluktuierenden Charakter haben, ideal ergänzen.
      
  • Langfristig: Der Import könnte zwischen 2020 und 2025 mit 60 Milliarden Kilowattstunden pro Jahr beginnen und bis 2050 auf 700 Milliarden Kilowattstunden pro Jahr ausgebaut werden. Die hohe und übers Jahr sehr gleichmäßige Einstrahlung in MENA und die geringen Verluste von 10 bis 15 Prozent durch Hochspannungsgleichstrom-Übertragung (HGÜ) erlauben langfristig Importstromkosten von etwa 0,05 Euro pro Kilowattstunde (in konstantem Geldwert des Jahres 2000).
      
  • Sauber: Kohlendioxidemissionen im Stromsektor können bis 2050 auf 25 Prozent des Jahres 2000 zurückgefahren werden.
      
  • Gemeinsam: MENA braucht europäische Hilfe und europäische Technologien für die Erschließung erneuerbarer Energiequellen und für die Nutzung des riesigen erneuerbaren Energiepotenzials dieser Region. Der notwendige politische Prozess muss jetzt in Form einer EU-MENA-Partnerschaft eingeleitet werden und könnte mit einer gemeinsamen Freihandelszone für erneuerbare Energien starten. Die Gründung der "Union for the Mediterranean" am 13. Juli 2008 und die Gründung der DESERTEC Industrial Initiative am 13. Juli 2009 sind wichtige Schritte in diese Richtung. 

Ausblick

In den kommenden Jahren wird das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt das Desertec-Konzept weiter ausarbeiten. Die bisherigen DLR-Studien werden aktualisiert und Standortanalysen für neue Kraftwerke entwickelt. Hier kommt dem DLR insbesondere der Zugang zu Satellitendaten zu Gute, die für die Investition in Solarkraftwerke eine wichtige Entscheidungsgrundlage liefern können. Darüber hinaus werden die DLR-Wissenschaftler die Entwicklung der Technologie für solarthermische Kraftwerke weiter vorantreiben, sodass einzelne Komponenten wie auch Gesamtsysteme der Kraftwerke verbessert werden können.

Das Stuttgarter DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik erstellt und bewertet seit mehr als 30 Jahren Konzepte zur nachhaltigen Energieversorgung auf der Basis von technologischen Einzelanalysen und von Szenariomodellierungen - dies im Auftrag von Bundesregierung, von Landesregierungen und der Europäischen Kommission. Ebenso lange arbeitet das DLR an der Erforschung und Entwicklung solarthermischer Kraftwerke. Mit derzeit über 80 Wissenschaftlern verteilt auf die Standorte Stuttgart, Köln und Almeria/Spanien ist die DLR-Solarforschung eine der weltweit führenden Forschungsstellen auf diesem Gebiet.

Zuletzt geändert am:
17.04.2013 11:41:27 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Dipl.-Kff. Sabine Winterfeld
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Technische Thermodynamik, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit & Marketing

Tel.: +49 711 6862-513

Fax: +49 711 6862-712

Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Tel.: +49 711 6862-480

Fax: +49 711 6862-636