Energy

Solar research

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Image Information
All Images
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
Previous Image
Next Image
Image {{index}}/{{count}}
Tips:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Solares Turmkraftwerk in Almería

    Solar tower power station in Almería, Spain

    The solar tower at the Plataforma Solar, Almería, Spain, is surrounded by an array of mirrors which concentrate sunlight onto receivers. The resulting heat drives a generator turbine.

The Solar Research of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) aims to develop environmentally and climate-friendly energy systems that convert solar radiation into usable energy. The focus is on reducing the cost and improving the performance of components and systems applied in solar thermal power plants.

In particular, this includes work on components for parabolic and tower plants based on DLR's own research platforms , new measuring and qualification technologies and simulation tools.  Beyond that, scientists are also looking for new fields in which solar technology might be applied. Another area of growing interest is that of solar chemistry and the development of relevant process technology which is hoped to be ready for industrial application in the medium term.
The DLR Solar Research Institute’s scientific and administrative employees are based at DLR’s Head Office in Cologne and at its Stuttgart and Jülich sites, as well as at Europe’s largest test facility for concentrated solar technology, the Plataforma Solar de Almería, which is owned by DLR’s Spanish research partner CIEMAT. DLR’s solar research facilities are unique in Europe, possessing highly sophisticated equipment as well as excellent scientific competence. Its position as a top co-operation partner of industry has resulted in a share of more than 60 percent in third-party funding.

Fundamental scientific research is mainly funded with grants from the Programme-Oriented Funding Programme of the Helmholtz Association (HGF). Under HGF’s Renewable Energies Programme, DLR together with other research institutions is hoping to unlock new knowledge whereby a major technology breakthrough might become possible within the medium term.

The new programme for the 2015 – 2019 period aims mainly at the development of new heat transfer fluids which are high-temperature resistant while at the same time having good heat transfer and heat storage properties. Investigations in this context focus on molten salts and ceramic particles. On that basis, systems with a markedly higher efficiency, lower cost and more flexible operational characteristics could be developed, which would constitute a genuine technological breakthrough.

The second focus will be on quantifying the impact of environmental conditions on the efficiency and service life of solar power plants operating on a desert site.

The third proposal relates to further research into the utilisation of solar radiation in chemical processes, the aim being to produce hydrogen or synthetic gas from water and CO2. This research intends to improve our understanding of the underlying reaction mechanisms, so that solar reactors can be designed to store solar energy with a higher degree of efficiency.

In addition to the research funded by HGF grants, DLR researchers also team up with industry partners to work on mainly application-oriented research and development assignments with funding from external sources.
 
This includes developing methods of component qualification with regard to efficiency and service life. The results will form the basis for the development of standards and requirements for components and systems used in solar thermal power stations. Together with external partners, scientists especially work on next- generation parabolic-trough power plants using direct solar steam and molten salts. Large-scale tests are currently being prepared.  These efforts will focus in particular on the development and qualification of adapted collector field components which will produce higher temperatures, as well as on the development and demonstration of improved integration concepts, operating strategies and control algorithms.

Tower technology involves the development and demonstration of enclosed high-temperature receivers which feed solar energy into highly efficient combined-cycle power plants. Having an overall solar efficiency of around 30 percent, these systems represent the technology with the maximum solar efficiency conceivable at this stage, thus offering considerable cost reduction potential. Moreover, DLR is assisting industry with the development of low-cost heliostats, which are needed for concentrating the incoming sunlight on to the receiver.

All of DLR’s solar research activities have now been merged under the roof of the DLR Institute of Solar Research which was founded in 2011. They are closely tied to the work of the DLR Institute of Technical Thermodynamics  in matters concerning energy storage, electrolysis and fuel cells. Scientists work, for example, on the development and qualification of low-cost thermal energy storage systems for solar power plants. Recent developments in the area of renewable energy applications and an extensive new analysis of hybrid solar-power plant processes have led to renewed investigations into energy storage for solar thermal power plants. Computer models based on a one-year operating history have shown that thermal storage will considerably increase the economic efficiency of solar power generation.

Last modified:
17/02/2014 14:51:59

Energie

Solarforschung

  • Solares Turmkraftwerk in Almería Solares Turmkraftwerk in Almería

    Solares Turmkraftwerk in Almería

    Das solare Turmkraftwerk auf der Plataforma Solar in Almería umgeben von einem Spiegelfeld, das die Solarstrahlung auf drei Strahlungsempfänger, so genannte Solarreceiver, reflektiert und dabei fokussiert. Im Turm befindet sich auch die jetzt getestete solar-hybride Gasturbine.

loading
 

Das Ziel der Solarforschung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist die Entwicklung umweltfreundlicher und klimaverträglicher Energiesysteme, die Sonnenstrahlung in Nutzenergie umwandeln. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Kostensenkung und Weiterentwicklung der Komponenten und Systeme für solarthermische Kraftwerke.

Dies sind insbesondere die Arbeiten an Bauteilen für Parabolrinnen- und Turmkraftwerke in Verbindung mit DLR-eigenen Testanlagen, neuen Vermessungstechnologien und Simulationswerkzeugen. Das Forschungsgebiet umfasst auch die Erschließung neuer Anwendungsfelder für solarthermische Technologien. Eine wachsende Bedeutung kommt der solarchemischen Verfahrenstechnik zu, deren technologische Entwicklung mittelfristig zu einem industriellen Einsatz führen soll.

Die DLR Solarforschung beschäftigt Wissenschaftler und Verwaltungspersonal am Hauptsitz des DLR in Köln, an den DLR-Standorten Stuttgart und Jülich sowie im größten europäischen Testzentrum für konzentrierende Solartechnologien des spanischen Forschungspartners CIEMAT, der Plataforma Solar de Almería. Das DLR verfügt in diesem Forschungsgebiet über eine in Europa herausragende Ausstattung mit komplexen Anlagen und exzellenter wissenschaftlicher Kompetenz. Die daraus resultierende europäische Spitzenposition des DLR als Kooperationspartner der Industrie ist die Grundlage für den hohen Drittmittelanteil von über 60 Prozent.

Grundlegende Fragestellungen werden überwiegend aus Mitteln der programmorientierten Förderung der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren (HGF) finanziert. Im Programm "Erneuerbare Energien" der HGF plant das DLR zusammen mit anderen Forschungszentren Wissen zu erschließen mit dem mittelfristig Technologiedurchbrüche möglich sind.

Im neuen Programm für den Zeitraum 2015-2019 soll ein Schwerpunkt auf der Erschließung neuer Wärmeträgerfluide liegen, die hochtemperaturstabil sind und gleichzeitig gute Wärmeübertragungs- und gute Wärmespeicher-Eigenschaften haben. Insbesondere Salzschmelzen und keramische Partikel stehen im Fokus der Untersuchungen. Auf dieser Basis lassen sich Systeme mit deutlich höheren Wirkungsgraden, geringeren Kosten und flexiblerem Betrieb entwickeln, die einen Technologiedurchbruch darstellen.

Zweiter Schwerpunkt soll die Quantifizierung des Einflusses von Umgebungsbedingungen an Wüstenstandorten auf den Wirkungsgrad und die Lebensdauer von Solarkraftwerken sein.

Der dritte vorgeschlagene Forschungsschwerpunkt ist schließlich die Weiterentwicklung der Nutzung der Sonnenstrahlung in der chemischen Verfahrenstechnik. Hier ist es das Ziel Wasserstoff oder Synthesegas mittels solarer Hochtemperaturwärme aus den Grundstoffen Wasser und CO2 zu erzeugen. Das Verständnis der Reaktionsmechanismen soll durch die Forschungsarbeiten verbessert werden um solare Reaktoren so auszulegen dass die Solarenergie mit besserer Effizienz gespeichert werden kann.

Neben den von der HGF geförderten Arbeiten entwickeln die Wissenschaftler gemeinsam mit der Industrie in Verbundprojekten Lösungen für vorwiegend anwendungsorientierte Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaufgaben mittels externer Finanzierung.

Hierzu gehören Methoden zur Qualifizierung der Komponenten in Bezug auf Effizienz und Lebensdauer. Diese Ergebnisse sind die Basis für die Entwicklung von Standards und Normen für Komponenten und Systeme in Solarthermischen Kraftwerken. Mit externen Partnern wird insbesondere an der nächsten Generation von Parabolrinnen-Solarkraftwerken mit solarer Direktverdampfung und Salzschmelzen geforscht. Hierzu werden Großversuche vorbereitet. Insbesondere die Entwicklung und Qualifikation angepasster Komponenten zur Steigerung der Temperaturen im Kollektorfeld sowie Entwicklung und Demonstration von optimierten Integrationskonzepten, Betriebsstrategien und Regelungsalgorithmen stehen im Vordergrund.

Bei der Turmtechnologie wird die Verwendung von geschlossenen Hochtemperatur-Receivern zur Einspeisung der Solarenergie in hocheffiziente Kombikraftwerke entwickelt und demonstriert. Diese Systeme mit solaren Gesamtwirkungsgraden von etwa 30 Prozent stellen die technische Konfiguration mit dem heute maximal denkbaren solaren Wirkungsgrad dar und erschließen so ein erhebliches Kostensenkungspotential. Darüber hinaus unterstützt das DLR die Industrie bei der Entwicklung von kostengünstigen Heliostaten, die zur Konzentration der Strahlung auf den Receiver benötigt werden.

Die Arbeiten der DLR Solarforschung werden im 2011 gegründeten DLR-Institut für Solarforschung gebündelt. Sie sind eng verzahnt mit den Arbeiten des DLR-Instituts für Technische Thermodynamik zum Forschungsthema Energiespeicher, Elektrolyse und Brennstoffzellen. Hier arbeiten die Wissenschaftler unter anderem an der Entwicklung und Qualifizierung von kostengünstigen thermischen Energiespeichern für solarthermische Kraftwerke. Die Bedeutung der Energiespeicherung für die solarthermischen Kraftwerke wurde durch die jüngsten Entwicklungen auf dem Gebiet der erneuerbaren Energien und nach ausführlichen Analysen von solar-hybriden Kraftwerksprozessen neu untersucht. Rechenmodelle über den Betriebsverlauf über ein Jahr haben gezeigt, dass ein thermischer Speicher die Wirtschaftlichkeit der solaren Stromerzeugung steigert.

Zuletzt geändert am:
18.12.2013 11:26:42 Uhr