DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives

Galileo applications



The Galileo satellite (Credit: ESA).
DLR’s Galileo Task Force has produced a draft study of Galileo’s potential transport applications. There are also plans to develop and utilise mobile phone and navigation services for the purposes of traffic control and traffic management and to support autonomous traffic flow control.

The following activities are planned:

  • Evaluation of the possibilities surrounding the development of new services, on the basis of different technologies (GSM, GPRS, UMTS, GPS, DAB, DVB-T and others), building on the results of the EU project MCP (Multimedia Car Platform), which defines an open architecture for future in-car services. The possibilities of the future GALILEO system will be incorporated into the work, closely coordinated with the corresponding work in the Space programme.
  • Development of new route and traffic planning services for public transport and private cars, such as route planning on a PDA, wireless transfer to in-car infrastructure; connection of PDAs to public transport information systems using Bluetooth and WLAN
  • Galileo satellites circle Earth
    (Credit: ESA)
    Use of satellites and high-altitude platforms to gather and distribute traffic information. Key aspects include the recording of floating car data, the transfer of this data to a traffic information centre and the distribution of local traffic information to road users. Issues specifically requiring clarification include multiple access protocols, error protection (coding) and data multicast
  • Development of new navigation processes through the inclusion and integration of terrestrial communication networks (e.g. Bluetooth and ad-hoc networks).

The following institutes are involved in these tasks:

  • Institute of Communications and Navigation
  • Institute of Traffic Management and Vehicle Control
  • Institute of Traffic Research

Created: 28/07/2005 11:20:00

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive

Galileo-Anwendungen



Galileo-Satellit (Bild: ESA).
Im Rahmen der DLR Galileo-Task Force wurde ein Studienentwurf zum Anwendungspotenzial von Galileo im Verkehr erarbeitet. Darüber hinaus wird die Entwicklung und Nutzung von Mobilfunk- und Navigationsdiensten zur Verkehrsführung und –steuerung sowie zur Unterstützung einer autonomen Verkehrsflusssteuerung angestrebt.

Folgende Aktivitäten sind vorgesehen:

  • Untersuchung der Möglichkeiten zur Entwicklung neuer Dienste auf der Basis verschiedener Technologien (GSM, GPRS, UMTS, GPS, DAB, DVB-T und andere) ausgehend von den Ergebnissen des EU-Projekts MCP (Multimedia Car Platform), in dem eine offene Architektur für zukünftige Dienste im KfZ definiert wird. Die Möglichkeiten des zukünftigen GALILEO-Systems werden – eng abgestimmt mit den diesbezüglichen Arbeiten im Programm „Weltraum“ – in die Arbeiten einbezogen.
  • Entwicklung neuer Dienste zur Routen- und Verkehrsplanung für ÖPNV und KfZ wie z.B. Routenplanung auf dem PDA, nahtloser Übergang auf KfZ-Infrastruktur; Anbindung von PDAs auf Informationssysteme des ÖPNV basierend auf Bluetooth und WLAN
  • Die Galileo-Satelliten werden die
    Erde auf drei Bahnen umkreisen
    (Bild: ESA)
    Einsatz von Satelliten und High-Altitude-Plattformen zum Sammeln und Verteilen von Verkehrsinformationen. Wesentliche Aspekte sind hierbei die Erfassung von Floating Car Daten, deren Übertragung an ein Verkehrsinformationszentrum und die Verteilung von lokalen Verkehrsinformationen an die Verkehrsteilnehmer. Dabei sind insbesondere Fragen des Vielfachzugriffsprotokolls, des Fehlerschutzes (Codierung) und des Daten-Multicasts zu klären
  • Entwicklung neuer Verfahren zur Navigation durch Einbeziehung und Integration terrestrischer Kommunikationsnetze (u.a. Bluetooth und ad-hoc-Netze).

Folgende Institute sind an diesen Aufgaben beteiligt:

  • Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation
  • Institut für Verkehrsforschung
  • Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Erstellt am: 28.07.2005 11:20:00 Uhr