Department Spacecraft (AS-RFZ)

04.01.2012

Aerodynamic Analysis and Design

The aerothermodynamic analysis and design activities of the Spacecraft Department mainly address research for hypersonic vehicles and spacecraft. The Department has been involved in all major German and European Space Technology programs during the last two decades. The major objective of the Department is the virtual design of space vehicles and their ground and flight qualification.

SHEFEX-I flight hardware
With respect to space transportation, since the end of the 1980s the Department is participating in almost all conceptual design studies of (re-) entry vehicles in several national and European programs, such as HSTS, AREV, SPHYNX, PARES, PHOENIX/HOPPER, PRE-X, CARV, FLPP-IXV, and CSTS. The Spacecraft Department led the aerothermodynamics activities in the German national program TETRA (the largest German space program since 1994), and the aerodynamic design of the liquid fly-back booster (LFBB) concept of the German program ASTRA. Initially the main focus was put on the development of ground based testing capabilities and numerical tools. About 10 years ago, a concept for a sky based wind tunnel was proposed in order to be able to generate flight test data by affordable means. This concept eventually developed into the SHEFEX I project (the first hypersonic flight experiment of DLR) which was led by the Spacecraft Department. In the framework of the SHEFEX II and SHEFEX III projects the responsibility for the aerodynamic design was taken.

Liftoff of the European launcher Ariane 5

 

The research activities related to rocket propulsion and launchers have been initiated in 2002, and comprise the investigation of nozzle flows and their interaction with the launcher’s base flow, and the simulation of rocket thrust chambers. The studies are performed in the framework of the MoU “Propulsion 2010” and “Propulsion 2010” between DLR and Astrium, the DLR projects and research activities, IMENS-3C, PROTAU, KERBEROS, research projects of the European Space Agency (ESA), and the German Research Foundation (DFG) funded transregional collaborative research centre SFB-TR 40.

Time accurate numerical simulation of the flow in a dual-bell rocket nozzle; Mach number contours, iso-surface of M=3 and streamlines on a cut plane

 

The Department’s efforts with respect to hypersonic technologies have been performed under bi-lateral cooperation agreements with ONERA and the University of Queensland, Australia. Further activities were and are performed in the framework of technology research projects of ESA, and the EC co-funded projects LAPCAT I and II (Long Term Advanced Propulsion Concepts and Technologies), ATLLAS I and II (Aerodynamic and Thermal Load Interactions with Lightweight Advanced Materials for High Speed Flight) as well as FAST20XX.

 

 

Numerical simulation of the flow past the complete Ariane-5 launcher;
Mach number contours at a flight Mach number of M=0.8
For the attitude and orbit control of spacecraft, chemical as well as electric thrusters are utilized. For a successful design of the reaction control system, e.g., the correct positioning of the thrusters on the spacecraft, the complete characterization of the plume and its impingement with the spacecraft and resulting potential surface contamination is required. The Department has invested continuous effort in this area and operates the worldwide unique vacuum plume test facility STG-CT for chemical thrusters and since 2011 STG-ET for electric thrusters. Further investigations are concerned with the performance of MEMS based micro-thrusters in the framework of the EC co-funded project PRECISE and with the development of a small hybrid rocket propulsion system within the DLR research activity AHRES. For the latter, the Department operates a ground based test facility at DLR Trauen.

 

Satellite reaction control engine during firing test in the STG Vacuum chamber
Research for hypersonic and spacecraft design is conducted within internal DLR activities, in the framework of cooperation with German universities such as TU Braunschweig, RWTH Aachen, TU München or Universität Stuttgart, within ESA or EC co-funded projects, and together with international cooperation partners such as JAXA in Japan, the University of Queensland in Australia, the US Air Force, and with European space companies.


Contact
Prof.Dr.-Ing. Klaus Hannemann
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
, Spacecraft
Tel: +49 551 709-2477

Fax: +49 551 709-2870

E-Mail: Klaus.Hannemann@dlr.de
Dagmar Brennecke-Hosseinzadeh
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
, Spacecraft
Tel: +49 551 709-2315

Fax: +49 551 709-2800

E-Mail: Dagmar.Brennecke@dlr.de
Dr.-Ing. Thino Eggers
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
, Spacecraft
Tel: +49 531 295-2436

Fax: +49 531 295-2320

E-Mail: Thino.Eggers@dlr.de
Silke Steinberg
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
, Spacecraft
Tel: +49 531 295-2421

Fax: +49 531 295-2320

E-Mail: SILKE.STEINBERG@DLR.DE
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-14541/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Atmospheric Re-Entry Demonstrator (ARD) (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13603/usetemplate-print/)
Base-Flow Aerodynamics (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13720/usetemplate-print/)
Control-Surface Efficiency and Heating (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13681/usetemplate-print/)
Design of Hypersonic Vehicles (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13677/usetemplate-print/)
Hypersonic Laminar Flow Control (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-22405/usetemplate-print/)
Launcher Base Flow Analysis (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13644/usetemplate-print/)
REX Free Flyer Vehicle (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-16797/usetemplate-print/)
SHarp Edge Flight Experiment (SHEFEX) (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13680/usetemplate-print/)
Electric Space Propulsion Test Facility Göttingen (STG-ET) (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-33138/usetemplate-print/)
Supersonic Combustion (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13698/usetemplate-print/)
Sustained Hypersonic Cruise Flight (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13722/usetemplate-print/)

Abteilung Raumfahrzeuge (AS-RFZ)

04.01.2012

Aerothermodynamischen Analyse- und Entwurfsarbeiten

Die aerothermodynamischen Analyse- und Entwurfsarbeiten der Abteilung Raumfahrzeuge beziehen sich hauptsächlich auf Raumtransportsysteme und Hyperschallkonfigurationen. Die Abteilung war während der letzten zwei Dekaden an allen deutschen und europäischen Raumfahrttechnologieprogrammen beteiligt. Das Hauptarbeitsgebiet ist der virtuelle Entwurf von Raumfahrzeugen und dessen Qualifikation in bodengebundenen Testeinrichtungen sowie Flugexperimenten.

SHEFEX-I Flugmodell
Im Bezug auf den Raumtransport hat die Abteilung seit den 80er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts in einer Vielzahl konzeptioneller Entwurfsstudien von (Wieder-) Eintrittsfahrzeugen im Rahmen nationaler und europäischen Programmen wie HSTS, AREV, SPHYNX, PARES, PHOENIX/HOPPER, PRE-X, CARV, FLPP-IXV, und CSTS mitgearbeitet. Die Abteilung leitete die aerothermodynamischen Arbeiten im deutschen TETRA Programm (dem größten deutschen Raumfahrtprogramm seit 1994) und den aerodynamischen Entwurf des sogenannten „Liquid Fly-back Booster (LFBB)“ Konzeptes im deutschen ASTRA Programm. Nachdem zunächst die Entwicklung bodengebundener Testanlagen und numerischer Verfahren im Mittelpunkt standen wurde vor ca. 10 Jahren ein Konzept für einen „Skybased Wind Tunnel“ entwickelt, um mit vertretbarem Aufwand Flugdaten zu gewinnen. Hieraus entwickelte sich das SHEFEX I Projekt (Sharp Edge Flight Experiment, das erste Hyperschallflugexperiment des DLR), das von der Abteilung Raumfahrzeuge geleitet wurde. Im Rahmen des SHEFEX-II und SHEFEX-III Projektes wurde die Verantwortung für den aerodynamischen Entwurf übernommen.

Start der europäischen Trägerrakete Ariane 5

 

Die Forschungsarbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Raketenantriebe und Trägersysteme begannen im Jahr 2002 und umfassen die Untersuchung von Düsenströmungen und deren Wechselwirkung mit der Heckströmung der Trägerrakete sowie die numerische Modellierung von Raketenschubkammern. Die Arbeiten werden im Rahmen von Kooperationen zwischen dem DLR und Astrium „Propulsion 2010“ und „Propulsion 2020“, den DLR Projekten und Forschungsvorhaben IMENS-3C, PROTAU, KERBEROS, Auftragsarbeiten für die europäische Ramfahrtagentur ESA und dem DFG Transregio SFB-TR 40 durchgeführt.

Zeitgenaue numerische Berechnung der Strömung in einer Dual-Bell-Raketendüse;
Konturen konstanter Machzahl M=3, Isoflächen und Stromlinien in einer Schnittebene

 

Die Arbeiten der Abteilung Raumfahrzeuge auf dem Gebiet von Hyperschalltechnologien fanden einerseits im Rahmen von bilateralen Kooperationen mit ONERA in Frankreich und der University of Queensland in Australien statt. Zum Anderen liefen und laufen Forschungsarbeiten im Rahmen von ESA Technologieforschungsprojekten, den EU Projekten LAPCAT I und II (Long Term Advanced Propulsion Concepts and Technologies), ATLLAS I und II (Aerodynamic and Thermal Load Interactions with Lightweight Advanced Materials for High Speed Flight) sowie FAST20XX.

 

 

Numerische Berechnung der Strömung um die komplette Ariane-5-Konfiguration; Machzahlkonturen bei einer Flugmachzahl von M=0.8
Für die Lageregelung und die Orbitalkontrolle von Raumfahrzeugen sind chemische und elektrische Kleintriebwerke erforderlich. Die Grundlage für den erfolgreichen Entwurf des Lageregelungssystems, d.h. beispielsweise der korrekten Positionierung der Triebwerke, ist die vollständige Charakterisierung des Antriebsstrahles und dessen Wechselwirkung mit dem Raumfahrzeug und daraus möglicherweise resultierender Oberflächenkontamination. Diese Themen werden seit mehreren Jahrzehnten untersucht Hierzu stehen weltweit einmalige Anlagen wie die Vakuumkammer STG-CT für chemische Triebwerke und ab 2011 die STG-ET für elektrische Triebwerke zur Verfügung. Weitere Arbeiten konzentrieren sich im Rahmen des EU Projektes PRECISE auf die Funktionsweise von MEMS basierten Mikrotriebwerken und im Rahmen des DLR Forschungsvorhabens AHRES auf die Entwicklung eines kleinen Raketenhybridantriebes. Zu letzterem betreibt die Abteilung eine Versuchseinrichtung im DLR Standort Trauen.

 

Test eines Satellitenantriebsystems in der STG-Vakuum-Kammer
DLR internen Forschungsprogrammen bzw. im nationalen Umfeld in Kooperation mit Universitäten wie beispielsweise der TU Braunschweig, der RWTH Aachen, der TU München oder der Universität Stuttgart durchgeführt. Auf internationaler Ebene sind vor allem ESA, die EU sowie die Kooperationspartner JAXA in Japan, die University of Queensland in Australien, die US Air Force sowie verschiedene europäische Raumfahrtunternehmen zu nennen.


Kontakt
Prof.Dr.-Ing. Klaus Hannemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
, Raumfahrzeuge
Tel: +49 551 709-2477

Fax: +49 551 709-2870

E-Mail: Klaus.Hannemann@dlr.de
Dagmar Brennecke-Hosseinzadeh
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
, Raumfahrzeuge
Tel: +49 551 709-2315

Fax: +49 551 709-2800

E-Mail: Dagmar.Brennecke@dlr.de
Dr.-Ing. Thino Eggers
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
, Raumfahrzeuge
Tel: +49 531 295-2436

Fax: +49 531 295-2320

E-Mail: Thino.Eggers@dlr.de
Silke Steinberg
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
, Raumfahrzeuge
Tel: +49 531 295-2421

Fax: +49 531 295-2320

E-Mail: SILKE.STEINBERG@DLR.DE
URL dieses Artikels
http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-14541/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Atmospheric Re-Entry Demonstrator (ARD) (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13603/usetemplate-print/)
Base-Flow Aerodynamics (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13720/usetemplate-print/)
Wirksamkeit und Aufheizung von Steuerflächen (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13681/usetemplate-print/)
Design of Hypersonic Vehicles (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13677/usetemplate-print/)
Hyperschall Strömungskontrolle (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-22405/usetemplate-print/)
Strömungsanalyse von Trägerraketen (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13644/usetemplate-print/)
REX Free Flyer Vehicle (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-16797/usetemplate-print/)
SHarp Edge Flight Experiment (SHEFEX) (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13680/usetemplate-print/)
Simulationsanlage Treibstrahlen Göttingen für Elektrische Triebwerke (STG-ET) (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-33138/usetemplate-print/)
Überschallverbrennung (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13698/usetemplate-print/)
Sustained Hypersonic Cruise Flight (http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-190/391_read-13722/usetemplate-print/)