Department Experimental Methods (AS-EXV)

Göttingen

 

Particle Image Velocimetry in DNW-TWG
.
360°-PSP measurement in DNW-HST
.
Flap gap measurement of an AIRBUS A340
.
Acoustic source map of a Dornier DO-728 half model in DNW-KKK

The Department of Experimental Methods develops optical and acoustical field measurement techniques for the acquisition of fluid-mechanical and aero-acoustical quantities and applies them mainly in large industrial wind tunnels and at in-flight testing for aerodynamics.

Quantitatively measurable values are pressure (PSP), velocity (PIV), location of transition lines (TSP), density (BOS), and sound pressure (Acoustic Microphone Array), in parallel with the determination of deformation (IPCT, PROPAC) and position of the model in the wind tunnel or of the wing of an aircraft or of a propeller. Application is mainly performed in the scope of large industrial projects in European co-operation. For this purpose mobile measurement systems have been developed by the department, which can be flexibly adjusted to particular testing environments. The quality of the results obtained in the rough environment of industrial test facilities is comparable with the results attained in the laboratory of universities.

All data is acquired with high spatial and temporal resolution non-intrusively so that no interference of the flow field by the measurement is to occur. In consequence, the methods developed are particularly suited for the aero-dynamical and aero-acoustical analysis of complex, unsteady three-dimensional flow fields. The acquired data sets constitute a reliable basis for the validation of numerical codes.

Increasingly, these image based measurement techniques are applied in parallel to obtain a more complete description of the flow field by determining several physical quantities simultaneously.

Measurement techniques

Hard- and software products

Projects

Conferences and courses

 Awards


Contact
Lars Koop
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
, Experimental Methods
Tel: +49 551 709-2237

Fax: +49 551 709-2830

E-Mail: Lars.Koop@dlr.de
Catrin Rosenstock
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
, Experimental Methods
Tel: +49 551 709-2461

Fax: +49 551 709-2830

E-Mail: Catrin.Rosenstock@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-183/251_read-12784/

Abteilung Experimentelle Verfahren (AS-EXV)

Göttingen

 

Particle Image Velocimetry im DNW-TWG
.
360°-PSP-Messung im DNW-HST
.
Klappenspaltmessung am AIRBUS A340
.
Akustische Quellkarte eines Dornier DO-728-Halbmodells im DNW-KKK

Die Abteilung Experimentelle Verfahren entwickelt optische und akustische Feldmessverfahren zur Erfassung strömungsmechanischer und aeroakustischer Größen und wendet diese vor allem in großen industriellen Windkanälen und im Flugversuch für Aufgabenstellungen aus dem Bereich der Aerodynamik an.

Quantitativ messbare Größen sind Druck (PSP), Geschwindigkeit (PIV), die Lage von Transitionslinien (TSP), Dichte (BOS) und Schalldruck (Acoustic Microphone Array) zusammen mit der Bestimmung der Deformation (IPCT, PROPAC) und räumlichen Lage des untersuchten Windkanalmodells bzw. Flugzeugflügels oder Propellers. Anwendungen liegen hauptsächlich im Bereich großer internationaler Projekte im europäischen Verbund. Hierfür werden von der Abteilung mobile Messsysteme entwickelt, welche sich flexibel an die jeweiligen Testbedingungen anpassen lassen. Die Qualität der in der rauen Umgebung von industriellen Versuchsanlagen gewonnenen Ergebnisse ist der von Universitäten im Labor erzielten vergleichbar.

Alle physikalischen Größen werden mit hoher räumlicher und zeitlicher Auflösung berührungslos erfasst, so dass keine Beeinflussung der untersuchten Strömung durch die Messung erfolgt. Damit sind die entwickelten Messmethoden besonders für die aerodynamische und aeroakustische Analyse komplexer, instationärer und dreidimensionaler Strömungen geeignet. Die gewonnenen Felddaten liefern eine zuverlässige Grundlage für die Validierung numerischer Verfahren.

In zunehmendem Maße werden die optischen Messtechniken parallel eingesetzt, um eine möglichst umfassende Beschreibung des Strömungsfeldes mit mehreren physikalischen Größen gleichzeitig zu erlangen.

Messtechniken

Hard- und Software-Produkte

Projekte

Konferenzen und Kurse

Auszeichnungen


Kontakt
Lars Koop
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
, Experimentelle Verfahren
Tel: +49 551 709-2460

Fax: +49 551 709-2830

E-Mail: Lars.Koop@dlr.de
Catrin Rosenstock
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
, Experimentelle Verfahren
Tel: +49 551 709-2461

Fax: +49 551 709-2830

E-Mail: Catrin.Rosenstock@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-183/251_read-12784/